Belfast Telegraph

Lack of entries puts Glens rally off grid

Saturday’s Glens of Antrim Rally, the final round of the Northern Ireland championship, has been cancelled.

The Mid Antrim Club failed to receive sufficient entries to run the event, a reflection of the fact that many categories in the Hankook-sponsored series have already been decided.

The overall championship was settled with three rounds to spare, Banbridge driver Kenny McKinstry taking six victories in a row to win his third NI title.

Donagh Kelly won the Down Rally to secure the Group N championship while Andrew Bustard, Neil Braniff, David Armstrong, Harry Brown and Andy Johnston are also confirmed as class champions.

Declan Leonard, Matthew Mason, Stephen Baxter, Fintan McGrady, Drew Stewart, Stuart Biggerstaff and Keith Cheshire will now become class or category winners under the “best seven scores” rule.

Emma McKinstry is the women’s championship winner.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph