Belfast Telegraph

Riders targeting Enkalon prize

By Roy Harris

The 36th running of the Enkalon Trophy Race in association with Adelaide Insurance and the Irish Superbike Championship Easter Festival of Races were launched last night in Downpatrick.

The tenth Irish Superbike Championship roars into action at Bishopscourt on Friday and Saturday, April 6-7.

The feature race of the two-day meeting organised by the MCRRCI and Killinchy Club will be the Enkalon Trophy Race first won by the legendary Ray McCullough at Aghadowey back in 1977.

Superbikes are the prominent class of the ISB series.

Once again a qualifying system, ‘Sail to Pole’ sponsored by Nutt will be used with the 10 fastest riders from an earlier two sessions going head to head to determine pole position for the three Superbike races over the two days with pole man receiving a trophy and £250.

The Enkalon Trophy Race, the third of the Superbike events, will have a total prize fund of £2,500 with the winner pocketing a £1,000 cheque.

A year ago Australian Cameron Donald was a six-time winner at this particular meeting including winning the Enkalon Trophy Race for a second time.

The Wilson Craig Honda rider will be a hot favourite to take the prestigious trophy for a third time as he warms up for another road race and Honda TT Legends World Endurance campaign.

Only Alan Irwin and Rodney McCurdy have achieved three wins each in the history of this race.

Sure to provide tough opposition to Donald are his team-mate William Dunlop, defending Irish Superbike Champion Kirk Jamison and top road racers Ryan Farquhar and Adrian Archibald, Jamie Hamilton, Denver Robb, Stephen Thompson, Richard Rea and Nico Mawhinney.

Robb will also be amongst the hot favourites in the opening races in the new D&GW 250GP championship.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph