Belfast Telegraph

Robert Devenney's bid for title delight well on track

By Robert Jones

Round four of the 2015 NI Karting Championship was held at Bishopscourt at the weekend and Robert Devenney once again dominated the World Formula class.

He took home four wins from four races, claiming a valuable points advantage over his title rivals at the Downpatrick circuit.

The Carrickfergus driver was untouchable all day, and left his fellow drivers to fight it out for second and third spots on the podium. Newtownabbey's Marc Vasey had a strong day's racing, and like Devenney finished each race in the same position, claiming four second-places.

Jason Curran secured solid points, finishing in third in three of the four races, with Newtownhamilton's Philip Armstrong taking the other third place.

Dollingstown's Daniel Conlon also completed a clean sweep of victories in the Senior Max class, racking up four wins from four races against some strong competition and gathering valuable points in the defence of his NI title.

Belfast's Jack McConnell also had a solid meeting, finishing second in each of the four races. Third position was shared between David Irvine and Douglas Reid, with Dromara driver Irvine claiming third in races one and two, and Ballynahinch's Reid rounding off the podium in races three and four.

It was also an impressive outing for young Jack McGaughey in the Mini Max class. With only two drivers taking part, it was between himself and Dungannon's Nathan Glenn for the win, and even though Glenn did his best to stay with and take the battle to McGaughey, the Glenavy driver was just too good and took home four wins from the four races.

In a change from the dominating performances in the previous classes, the Cadet Open section provided some thrilling races, and witnessed four different winners in each of the contests, with Hasley Crawford, Ryan O'Boyle, Shane O'Boyle and Peadar O'Boyle all topping the podium once apiece.

Stuart Coey was to the fore of proceedings in the 125 Superkart class, claiming a hat-trick of wins and leaving the Downpatrick circuit undefeated.

The next round of the NI Championship is scheduled to take place on Saturday, June 27 around the exciting North West 200 Paddock Circuit in Portstewart.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph