Belfast Telegraph

Scramble on as top riders head for Hutton Memorial

Bell’s Hill, Crossgar, will host the 7th annual Magee’s Bar Billy Hutton Memorial Scramble on August 11, marking the 60th year that the County Down venue has been used for what used to be known as the Tommy Stewart event.

Portavogie’s Robert Hamilton, the current champion, has won the race on three occasions (2006, 2010, 2011) with fellow Ards man Gordon Crockard a double winner in 2008 and 2009.

The Knock Club event has always attracted the crème de la crème of motocross competitor since it’s inception. In 1957 the BSA team included the famous Taft Brothers along with Brian Martin, who later became the BSA Racing Team Manager; European Motocross champion Vic Allan, Bob Wright and Roger Harvey now the motocross coordinator at Honda Europe.

Bell’s Hill, owned by the Hutton family, is the oldest running and one of the most demanding motocross venues in Ireland. The event itself is a fitting tribute to Billy Hutton who sadly passed away after a short illness in December 2005.

Billy was a 10-time winner of the Tommy Stewart Scramble in the late ’50s and ’60s and after retiring from competition, became President of the Motor Cycle Union of Ireland. He later took on the role of Travelling Marshall Convenor and worked an amazing 53 International North West 200s in a similar position.

The 15-race programme gets underway at 11am on August 11 with the overall winner collecting the Billy Hutton Trophy. The Oscar Henderson and Stronge Cups will be awarded to the top Grade B and C riders on the day.

Entry forms can be downloaded from this address:

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph