Belfast Telegraph

Six of the best in race to win Telegraph title

By Roy Harris

The top team from Belfast Telegraph Sport is proud to honour motorcycle sport's most outstanding team of 2013.

The Telegraph Team of the Year is one of 12 awards up for grabs at Friday night's Adelaide Irish Motorcyclist of the Year presentations, in association with the Enkalon club, at the Shaw's Bridge Ramada Plaza Hotel, and today we reveal our nominations.

An expert panel of judges chaired by former British champion Adrian Coates will pick our winner from these six of the best -- CD Racing, HM Plant KTM, KMR Kawasaki, MD Racing, Mar-Train Racing and Tyco Suzuki.

Chris Dowd's CD Racing team took Derek Sheils to the Irish Superbike road race and Adelaide Masters championships while winning the prestigious Enkalon Trophy Race on Easter Saturday at Bishopscourt. They also played a major role in William Dunlop's Supersport Yamaha successes that included an Ulster Grand Prix win and TT podium place.

Crossgar businessman Roger Magee's HM Plant KTM UK team retained the British MX2 Motocross championship with Elliott Banks-Browne in the saddle and saw Natalie Kane secure fourth position in the Women's World Motocross championship including two victories during the Great Britain round on the Isle of Wight and in Slovakia. Natalie is also nominated for the main award of the night.

Ryan Farquhar's KMR Kawasaki Team, backed by a high profile title sponsor in Vauxhall NI Dealers, claimed two Irish road race titles in Supertwin and Supersport with Jamie Hamilton in the saddle, unbeaten on his way to the Supertwin title.

International success was also achieved when Jeremy McWilliams won the only Supertwin race at the Vauxhall North West 200 with Hamilton securing third.

Hamilton finished second in the UGP Supertwin race, losing out on victory by eight one hundredths of a second while Conor Cummins rode a KMR machine to third position in the Lightweight TT and fellow Manxman Joe Faragher claimed a podium at the Manx Grand Prix for Ryan's team.

Michael Dunlop Racing operated outside the Ballymoney rider's TT Honda Legends Superbike commitments and enjoyed a highly successful season with three of his four TT wins coming on his own multi-sponsored team machines.

Here at home he won all the Irish Superbike road races he entered and set many lap records on his MD Racing Hondas. Dunlop also claimed his first Duke Road Race Rankings title and secured his first Scarborough Gold Cup victory.

Saintfield-based Tim and Sonya Martin's Mar-Train Yamaha Team delivered British title success in 2013 with Stuart Easton clinching the British Supersport Championship, which saw arguably the best racing of the season.

Last, but not least, Tyco Suzuki, multi-winners of this category, launched a twin-pronged attack on the British Superbike Championship and International road races. Josh Brookes and PJ Jacobsen were the BSB challengers with Brookes finishing third in the series and Jacobsen ninth while on the roads Guy Martin raced to a blistering treble at the Ulster Grand Prix and won the Southern 100 Solo Championship race while Brookes became the fastest ever TT newcomer.

All will be as hard to separate in the voting as they are on the track, going down to the line for Friday night's announcement.

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph