Belfast Telegraph

The Race is on for you to award Joey Dunlop Trophy

By Roy Harris

Voting opens today to decide the recipient of the prestigious Joey Dunlop Trophy for Irish Motorcyclist of the Year at the Adelaide Motorbike Awards evening in the Ramada Plaza Hotel, Belfast on Friday, January 23.

Some 22 competitors have been nominated for the main award - in association with Enkalon - that will be decided by public vote and an expert panel of judges chaired by Adrian Coates

Among the favourites will be Michael Dunlop for his outstanding season on the roads that included becoming the first ever rider to win four Isle of Man TT races in successive years and BMW's first Superbike TT victory in 75 years.

Jonathan Rea is also a contender for clinching third place in the World Superbike Championship, while Alastair Seeley was runner-up in the British Supersport Championship, also scoring a double on the Thursday evening of the North West 200,

Glenn Irwin is in the mix for the part he played in the British Supersport series - finishing fourth - and also his four wins with two lap records at the Sunflower Trophy meeting.

Eugene Laverty secured a sensational victory in the opening World Superbike race of the season on his debut for Voltcom Suzuki.

Andy Reid took the British 600cc Superstock Championship right to the wire only to finish second while making a huge impression on his first Superbike outings at the Sunflower.

Adelaide Masters Superbike and Supersport champions Cody Nally and Carl Phillips are also sure to pick up votes.

British MX1 Championship fourth place finisher Graeme Irwin, Ulster Motocross champion Richard Bird, Irish champion Stuart Edmonds, British U21 Quad champion Mark McClernon, Natalie Kane - who had another outstanding World MX Championship campaign - and Michael Burton who recently clinched his eighth Irish Trials Championship in nine years will all be in the mix for the main award.

Other riders chasing your vote include Michael Laverty, William Dunlop, Jamie Hamilton, Lee Johnston, Jack Kennedy, Derek McGee, Richard McNeill and Marty Nutt, all of whom had a successful season either on the home front or beyond.

To cast your vote simply go to while you can access the vote by logging onto the website via any computer, ipad, iphone, android or mobile device.

A dozen other awards will also be presented including road racer of the year, team of the year, hall of fame and race of the year.

For tickets visit

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph