| 11.6°C Belfast

Todds Leap retains top championship honour

For the second season in a row and the fourth time in five years, the Todds Leap Ulster Rally has picked up the award for the No.1 event in the British championship.

Rally director Philip Murray and clerk of the course Lewis Boyd collected the award on behalf of the organising team at the BRC prize dinner in Manchester where Finn Jukka Korhonen was crowned British champion.

Welshman Osian Pryce, who won the British championship division of the Ulster Rally, was named 'Driver of the Year'. The top Irish award winner was Daniel McKenna, champion in the R2 category, and the Carryduff-based David Greer Motorsport topped the team competition.

Meanwhile, Craig Breen was left to reflect on what might have been after finishing third in the Rally du Valais, the final round of the European championship.

Peugeot Academy team leader Breen led the rally initially but then dropped to 17th after incurring a two-minute road penalty and a further two-minute penalty when his S2000 Peugeot suffered power steering failure.

But a strong fightback saw him climb to third place, finishing just eight seconds behind Swiss runner-up Olivier Burri (Ford) and three-and-a-half minutes behind the winning Skoda of Finn Esparekka Lappi.

Breen ends the season third in the ERC standings, behind Jan Kopecky and Bryan Bouffier.

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

"I really wanted to win this event but yet again it wasn't to be," said Breen, who has been runner-up four times in the outdated Peugeot 207. "You can't imagine how much I'm looking forward to the first rally of next year and getting behind the wheel of the Peugeot 208 T16."

Kenny McKinstry added yet another prize to his collection when he won the Glens Forestry Rally.

Top Videos