Belfast Telegraph

Sports Awards

Isle of Man TT Monday results: Michael Dunlop wins Supersport opener with lap record time but says he can go faster

By Gareth Hanna

Michael Dunlop has sealed his second victory at this year's Isle of Man TT, posting a new Supersport lap record on the way.

The 29-year-old finished ahead of second-placed Dean Harrison as he beat his own 2013 record by over four seconds on his MD Racing Honda machinery.

Dunlop came in at 17:31.328 in lap two of the opening Monster Energy Supersport race, an average pace of 129.197mph.

But the Ballymoney rider is convinced he could break that speed before the week is over.

"I genuinely think I could do 130 - wait for it," he told Manx Radio. "The boys have worked really hard. We went in a bit blind today because we hadn't had a lot of time on the bike.

"We could definitely make it better without a doubt and go again. It's a fast pace but I felt good and I'm starting to ride a bit harder. I'll keep my head down and batter on."

Ballymoney man Dunlop also won Saturday's opening Superbike race and today's victory takes his overall Isle of Man TT record to 17 race wins. That puts him into equal third in the all-time victories list with sidecar ace Dave Molyneux and chasing John McGuinness on 23 and his uncle Joey on 26.

Dunlop will be looking to make it 18 in this afternoon's Superstock race, scheduled for 2.15pm.

His Supersport record lap set Dunlop over six seconds clear of Harrison, a gap he added to as he finished over 10 seconds ahead. The real drama was the race for third with Peter Hickman coming in just 1.8 seconds ahead of James Hillier.

Dunlop and Harrison took off well clear of the pack, a two horse race from as early as the first lap.

Dunlop's Supersport record is the third lap record to fall during this year's TT. Dean Harrison broke the Superbike and overall record with a time of 16:50.384 (average speed 134.432mph) in the first lap of Saturday's opening race, eventually won by Dunlop. Ben & Tom Birchall then broke the Sidecar record with a lap time of 19:04.353.

After Saturday's victory, Dunlop paid tribute to Manx racer Dan Kneen, who died following a crash during Superbike practice last Wednesday evening.

"I wanted to do something for Dan," Michael said. "None of us can do anything to make it better but that is for the family.

"Its been a hard week for us, the Tyco BMW boys worked so hard this week doing everything I asked of them and probably a bit more. Sadly, my team-mate Dan wasn't here with us."

Monster Energy Supersport Race One (Monday June 4)

1. Michael Dunlop 1:11:51.072

2. Dean Harrison +10.278s

3. Peter Hickman +10.536s

4. James Hillier +12.342s

5. Conor Cummins +53.284s

6. Josh Brookes +1:06.285 mins

7. Gary Johnson +1:15.080s mins

8. Lee Johnston +1:21.118 mins

9. James Cowton +1:54.073 mins

10. Ivan Lintin +2:03.880

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph