Belfast Telegraph

Isle of Man TT results: Michael Dunlop wins again with another lap record

Michael Dunlop had some royal support for his victory in the Lightweight TT.
Michael Dunlop had some royal support for his victory in the Lightweight TT. PICTURE BY STEPHEN DAVISON

Michael Dunlop has won his third race of this year's Isle of Man TT.

The Ballymoney racer won a competitive Lightweight TT on Wednesday afternoon, pulling clear of second placed Derek McGee in the final lap to win by 14.6 seconds. Michael Rutter came in third.

Dunlop now has 18 TT victories, third in the all-time list behind uncle Joey Dunlop on 26 and John McGuinness on 23. This was Michael's first win in the Lightweight class.

Dunlop had already won the meeting's opening Superbike race and added victory in Monday's Supersport.

Ivan Lintin led after a Lightweight record in the opening lap at 121.603mph, beating James Hillier's 2015 record.

Lintin retired OK during the second lap when he was nine seconds clear and to make matters worse, his record was soon smashed by Dunlop with a 122.257mph to go into a lead that he refused to relinquish, although McGee did push all the way, just 1.6 seconds behind going into the final lap.

Dunlop went on to push the record even further to 122.750mph during a blistering final lap to pull away from McGee.

"We had a small issue at the start of the race but I knew it wasn't going to be a sprint," he said. "I knew it was time I got going and I battered into it. I knew Derek was coming so in the last lap, I had a push to break it up."

The Lightweight is the SIXTH lap record to fall this week.

Dean Harrison broke the Superbike and overall record with a time of 16:50.384 (average speed 134.432mph) in the first lap of Saturday's opening race, eventually won by Dunlop. Ben & Tom Birchall then broke the Sidecar record with a lap time of 19:04.353 and on Monday morning, Dunlop clocked 17:31.328 in lap two of the opening Monster Energy Supersport race, an average pace of 129.197mph. Then Peter Hickman beat Ian Hutchinson's 2016 Supersport record by over seven seconds with a time of 16:53.059 (134.077mph) on lap two.

On Wednesday, Michael Rutter broke the TT Zero record with a 121.824mph average.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph