Belfast Telegraph

Isle of Man TT results: Time penalty thwarts Dunlop as Dean Harrison bags biggest win and another record falls

Dean Harrison (Silicone Kawasaki) won the second Supersport race at the Isle of Man TT.
Dean Harrison (Silicone Kawasaki) won the second Supersport race at the Isle of Man TT. PICTURE BY STEPHEN DAVISON

Dean Harrison won his first race of this year's Isle of Man TT in the second Monster Energy Supersport race.

The Yorkshireman had, of course, been so close to winning the opening Superbike race on Saturday but sensationally retired during lap four, having earlier broken the overall lap record.

He made amends on Wednesday morning on his Kawasaki, leading from the off to win by 18.671 seconds from Peter Hickman in second, with James Hillier in third. Hickman now has a win and seven podiums in his last eight starts.

It's Harrison's second TT win, following his Lightweight success in 2014. He also has three Classic TT titles to his name.

Ballymoney race Michael Dunlop had been in second, chasing Harrison until he was handed a 30 second penalty for speeding in the pit-lane and in the end finished fifth behind Conor Cummins. Dunlop went 0.214 kmh over the 60kmh limit at the end of lap two. Winner Harrison went on to call the penalty 'harsh'.

Dunlop's wait for his third win of the week goes on but for Harrison, it was delight.

"We've been trying all week and it's finally paid off," he said. "I'm over the moon for all the team. The lads work hard all day, every day.

"We made a few changes for today and the bike was better."

So can he win a big bike TT?

"We'll try," he said. "We always do our best. I just want to thank the crowd for supporting us, it means a lot."

Meanwhile, in the SES TT Zero, Michael Rutter claimed his sixth TT win ahead of Daley Mathison in second and Lee Johnston in third. He also broke the lap record with a 121.824mph average, well clear of John McGuinness' 119.279mph in 2015.

It's the fifth record to be broken at this year's TT.

Dean Harrison broke the Superbike and overall record with a time of 16:50.384 (average speed 134.432mph) in the first lap of Saturday's opening race, eventually won by Dunlop. Ben & Tom Birchall then broke the Sidecar record with a lap time of 19:04.353 and on Monday morning, Dunlop clocked 17:31.328 in lap two of the opening Monster Energy Supersport race, an average pace of 129.197mph. Then Peter Hickman beat Ian Hutchinson's 2016 Supersport record by over seven seconds with a time of 16:53.059 (134.077mph) on lap two.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph