Belfast Telegraph

John McGuinness will lead the Isle of Man TT

By Paul Lindsay

21-times Isle of Man TT winner John McGuinness will lead the field off at number one on the opening day at this year’s event on June 6, in the six-lap RST Superbike race, with Ballymoney’s Milwaukee Yamaha mounted Michael Dunlop starting 20 seconds further back at number three.

Race number allocation at the TT is always a massive talking point and with the top twenty seeded riders all having lapped at over 127mph, this year’s line-up is arguably the strongest ever in the history of the famous Manx event.

Starting behind McGuinness on the Honda Racing machine will be James Hillier at number two on the Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki. At number four will be Michael Rutter on the BMW, with TT lap record holder Bruce Anstey [Valvoline by Padgetts’ Honda] at his traditional number 5.

Behind the Kiwi at number six and eight will be the Tyco BMW pairing of William Dunlop and Guy Martin on the official BMW Motorrad S1000RR Superbikes, and sandwiched in between will be Gary Johnson – last year’s Supersport race one winner – on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki.

Completing the top ten will be Ian Hutchinson [9] aboard Paul Bird’s PBM Kawasaki and popular Manxman Conor Cummins at ten, where he will look to post his first TT Superbike win after a double podium last year.

Temple based Mar-Train Yamaha will see their rider Dean Harrison start at 11, with Scottish ace Keith Amor making a return to the Superbike class aboard a Rig Deluge BMW at 12. Next up are Ulstermen Lee Johnston [East Coast Racing BMW] at 13, and Dungannon’s Ryan Farquhar [KMR Kawasaki] at 14. Manxman Dan Kneen, who has yet to finalise his plans for the season will start at 15 with Aussie David Johnson at 16 on the Smiths’ BMW.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph