| 5°C Belfast

North West legends to be honoured at Past Winners Evening


Revving up: Carl Fogarty

Revving up: Carl Fogarty

Revving up: Carl Fogarty

Some of the North West 200's most famous racers will be in attendance on the north coast on Friday night for a Past Winners Evening to commemorate their achievements.

Four-time World Superbike champion Carl Fogarty will be the headliner at the event, which will also see Sammy Millar, Mick Grant, Ian Newton, Brian Reid and John McGuinness in attendance.

Fogarty was a double winner in 1993 with the Moto Cinelli Ducati team, although that only came after several years of trying to win around the Triangle, will be the main man at the event, which takes place in the Paddock at 7:30pm on Friday night.

Of the past winners, 1994 and 1995 250cc champion Newton will be there for another reason as he now acts as crew chief for Alastair Seeley's EHA Yamaha team.

Millar was the first on the list to win his North West races, a hat-trick of NSU victories in the 1950s, followed by multiple British champion and TT winner Grant, who notched a double in 1975 on Greenie Meanie Kawasakis while also setting a new UK lap speed record before going on to win again in 1977 and 1980.

Brian Reid, affectionately nicknamed the "Dromara Destroyer" was a 600cc winner in 1989 while 23-time TT winner John McGuinness has been on board six North West winners across all disciplines.

The night will be hosted by Adrian Logan and will feature stories that all motorcycling fans will want to listen to. Tickets are £5 and can be bought in advance from the ticket office or on the night at the door.

Belfast Telegraph