Belfast Telegraph

Rea set to receive Joey Dunlop trophy at gala


Racing legend: Jonathan Rea
Racing legend: Jonathan Rea

By Roy Harris

The Cornmarket Motorcycle Awards winners will be announced tonight at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Belfast in front of a sell-out crowd.

The main award for the Cornmarket Irish Motorcyclist of the year is arguably a 'certainty' with record four-time World Superbike champion Jonathan Rea looking to win the Joey Dunlop Trophy for the fourth year in succession.

Also nominated from the public vote are Jack Kennedy, Eugene Laverty, Keith Farmer, Glenn Irwin, Michael Dunlop, Derek McGee, Eunan McGlinchey, Andrew Irwin and Alastair Seeley.

The panel of judges had the unenviable task of choosing the dozen other award winners that will be handed out on the night with a plethora of racing talent to be honoured including William Dunlop, who will be inducted into the RPS Hall of Fame.

Six riders are nominated for the Belfast Telegraph National Road Racer of the Year with triple Irish champion Derek McGee facing opposition from Adam McLean, Derek Sheils, Davey Todd, Paul Robinson and Darryl Tweed.

In the IFS International Road Racer of the Year category Peter Hickman had an exceptional year with at least one victory at the North West 200, TT and Isle of Man where he set a stunning new lap record of 135.452mph.

Rivals nominated are Dean Harrison, Michael Dunlop, Conor Cummins, who won his first international race since his huge TT accident in 2010, Alastair Seeley and Glenn Irwin stars of the North West 200, Adam McLean and Lee Johnston a podium finisher at all three major internationals.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph