Belfast Telegraph

Sensational Harrison takes seven wins from seven starts

By Roy Harris

Dean Harrison was in sensational form at Olivers Mount, Scarborough over the weekend taking his Silicone Engineering Kawasaki's to seven wins from seven starts.

Harrison retained the feature Cock o'the North title and setting a new outright lap record for the 2.43mile woodland circuit in North Yorkshire of 84.63mph beating the 2013 mark of 83.898mph set by Guy Martin.

The 28-year-old from Bradford, who won the Duke Road Race Ranking title in 2016, had no equals winning the both Senior races, both Open, both Junior and then winning the main race of the two-day meeting by over three seconds from Daly Mathison (Eddie Stobart Honda).

Mathison had over 20 seconds to spare over third placed man Ivan Lintin on the Dafabet Devitt Kawasaki with Tobermore rider Adam McLean first Supersport machine home in fourth position seven seconds behind Lintin.

It was on the sixth lap of this race that Harrison lapped the circuit in 1m 43.362secs, the first machine to lap the track at over 84mph.

Jamie Coward, also Supersport mounted and Mick Goodings (1000cc Kawasaki) completed the top six after eight laps.

This was the fifth year in succession that Harrison, who had a brilliant TT a few weeks ago and also picked up his first North West 200 podium in May, has won this particular race and has now gone 14 races at Olivers Mount undefeated this season, winning seven from seven during the Spring Cup back in April.

McLean finished second to Harrison in both Junior races in which Coward was third on Saturday and Mathison the last podium position yesterday, 21-year old McLean taking third in the first Super Lightweight (650cc) race, third and fourth in the two Open races, the first 600cc machine home in both.

On Saturday at Seaforde Jordan McCaw lifted one of the oldest trophies in Irish motocross, history - the John Donnelly - when he amassed a total of 69 points in his three races to beat Christopher Cully (62) and Sean Laverty (53).

McCaw from Ballymoney, was the clear winner of Leg 1 of the John Donnelly with over 35 seconds to spare over Cully, who only just got to the chequered flag a tenth of a second ahead of Laverty. Jonny Presho, Richard Watt and Anthony Lyle completed the top six while pre-race favourite Richard Bird only completed three laps before retiring.

Bird from Lisburn bounced back in Leg 2 over nine laps of the 0.914mile track to beat McCaw by 18.5 seconds; Cully dropped to third almost 40 seconds adrift of McCaw with Laverty, Watt and Presho completing the leader board. It was a case of what might have been for Bird as he comfortably won Leg 3 of the main event by over 18 seconds from McCaw and but for that DNF in race one he could well have been the outright winner. However McCaw thoroughly deserved his overall victory with three consistent performances again 40 seconds ahead of Cully in the final race that saw Presho, Watt and Laverty swapping order this time around.

• Nine-time world champion Valentino Rossi claimed victory for Yamaha in the Dutch TT at Assen as Andrea Dovizioso took the lead in the MotoGP title race.

It was the Italian's first win since May 2016 but Ducati's Dovizioso, winner of the previous two races, was fifth to open up a four-point overall lead.

Previous leader Maverick Vinales, who began 11th, crashed his Yamaha with 14 laps to go.itain's Cal Crutchlow was fourth for Honda.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph