Belfast Telegraph

Shane Byrne is great shakes with historic fifth British Superbike Championship

By Roy Harris

Speed king Shane 'Shakey' Byrne created history at his home track of Brands Hatch in Kent by becoming the first rider to win five British Superbike Championships - and never won any of the three weekend races.

In soggy conditions, Peter Hickman won Saturday's race and his JG Speedfit Kawasaki team-mate James Ellison won both races yesterday.

Following a crash in Saturday's race by Byrne's championship rival Leon Haslam, the Be Wiser Ducati rider finished in sixth position and yesterday finished fifth in race two to clinch that fifth championship and Byrne rounded off his season with third place in a superb final race of the season.

Team boss Paul Bird said: "It means the most and to come to Ducati and to win that in our first year back with them is ultra-special.

"It just means so much to us and Ducati as well. We have some pretty special people in our team and we were confident that we could be there or thereabouts. We want to win again next year and I think this could be the most special title."

Carrick's Glenn Irwin posted a very creditable third in Saturday's race, seventh behind his team-mate Byrne in race two before registering 17th in his final race before the Sunflower Trophy meeting on Friday and Saturday at Bishopscourt that will bring down the curtain on the local racing season.

In Supersport, Eglinton rider David Allingham finished fourth in the sprint race in which Carrick's Andrew Irwin was 12th while yesterday Irwin improved to sixth in the restarted race with Allingham a non-starter.

The championship was clinched by Scottish rider Tarran Mackenzie with Allingham in fourth position, the injured Andy Reid, also from Carrick, ninth and Irwin 10th.

Lisburn's Carl Phillips finished third in the Superstock 600cc race, but not enough to stop Jordan Weaving clinching the championship, 13 points ahead of the Sandown Kawasaki rider. Michael Rutter rode to a tremendous Superstock 1000cc race victory less than a second ahead of Keith Farmer with Ian Hutchinson 15 seconds back in third for Tyco BMW and Josh Elliott 12th.

Hutchinson finished second in the championship behind Taylor Mackenzie with Farmer, Rutter and Elliott third, fourth and sixth.

In Motostar, Richard Kerr scored a fifth in race one before crashing out of race two while Randalstown's Eugene McManus was 12th and sixth in the two races over the weekend's meeting.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph