Belfast Telegraph

Top stars eager to foil Ryan's bid to build on Masters


By Roy Harris

Rounds seven, eight and nine of the Masters Superbike Championship take place at Mondello Park, Co. Kildare today and tomorrow with any one of 10 riders capable of winning the three races.

One takes place this afternoon with two tomorrow, all around the national circuit and also counting for the Irish Short Circuit Championship.

Richie Ryan, on his R1 Yamaha, leads the Masters standings following four second-place finishes and two third positions from the opening six races.

Cody Nally won all three opening races, while Carl Phillips, on his MD Racing Suzuki, took advantage of the five-week break in the BSB Championship to win rounds four, five and six.

Last year's Masters champion, Robert English, returns to the series on his IFS Global Logistics R1 Yamaha, while another ex-champion, Brian McCormack, is another potential winner on his new BMW.

Returning from injury is Luke Johnston (BMW), while last year's Superbike Cup winner Charles Stuart (R1 Yamaha) cannot be discounted, and Gerard Kinghan and Mark Glasgow, aboard their Kawasakis, will be looking to accumulate as many points as possible to consolidate their top-10 positions.

The Masters Supersport races will also provide thrilling action. Ross Patterson (Kingsbury Kawasaki) is leading the Championship with Jason Lynn, Aaron Clifford, Korie McGreevy and Christian Elkin all potential race winners.

There will also be interest in the talented Eunan McGlinchey from Aghadowey, who has been sweeping all before him in the production twins class and is quickly getting to grips with his Supersport Suzuki.

Davy Morgan and Adam McLean lead the local challenge at Oliver's Mount, Scarborough where one of the recent TT heroes, Dean Harrison, will be looking to retain his Cock O'The North title around the 2.43-mile woodland circuit.

The 28-year-old Silicone Engineering Kawasaki rider is in tremendous form so far in 2017 and, following his seven wins from seven starts, he begins as clear favourite to add to his current tally of 50 wins around the North Yorkshire circuit.

Ivan Lintin and post-TT winners James Cowton and Jamie Coward will provide the opposition in the main classes.

One of the oldest events in Irish motocross racing, the John Donnelly Trophy, will take place during the Killinchy Club promotion at Seaforde MX Park today.

Adding interest to the meeting is a change to the circuit in that the races will be ran in the opposite direction to normal with an exciting day of action guaranteed.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph