Belfast Telegraph

William Dunlop sets record speed as injury limits hopes


By Roy Harris

Peter Hickman took a clean sweep of pole positions in Superbike, Superstock and Supersport qualifying yesterday ahead of tomorrow's MCE Ulster Grand Prix at Dundrod.

However it was William Dunlop who set the fastest ever speed trap time at the event, recorded at 200.4mph through the Flying Kilo on his Temple Golf Club R1 Yamaha during Superbike qualifying.

Dunlop will not participate on the big bike tomorrow and will attempt the Supersport - after breaking a bone in his wrist at home.

Hickman came within three quarters of a second of the official outright lap record with a speed of 133.560mph on his third lap of eight to take provisional pole half a second ahead of Dan Kneen, who came with a late charge on the 10th of his 11 laps on the Tyco BMW, with Bruce Anstey taking the RCV-213 Honda into third, the front row completed by Conor Cummins.

Row two is headed by the Dunlop brothers with William in fourth position just 0.360secs ahead of Michael, Dean Harrison completing the trio on row two.

These speeds are provisional as the top 10 riders from qualifying go into tomorrow's McKinstry Skip Hire Superpole for final Superbike grid positions.

It was Hickman again, this time Trooper Beer by Smiths Triumph mounted, who raced to pole position for both Supersport races tomorrow, setting the fastest lap on his fourth lap of seven at 127.333mph, a 10th of a second ahead of Harrison with Anstey third at 126.399mph and the front row completed by Lee Johnston (Padgetts Honda).

The Dunlop brothers head up row two, William one hundredth of a second ahead of Michael with Cummins seventh.

Mid Ulster duo Paul Jordan and Adam McLean will start 10th and 11th on the grid with eight 10ths separating them.

Superstock machines were first out on track for their final qualifying session ahead of tomorrow's race and that man Hickman was soon in command setting the fastest speed of 132.334mph on his fourth lap.

UGP Superbike: 1st P. Hickman 133.560mph, 2nd D. Kneen 133.186, 3rd B. Anstey 132.948, 4th C. Cummins 132.651, 5th W. Dunlop 132.606, 6th M. Dunlop132.369

UGP Superstock: 1st P. Hickman 132.334mph, 2nd D. Harrison 132.237, D. Kneen 130.732, 4th J. Coward 130. 425, 5th D. Johnson 130.303, 6th D. Sheils 130.247

UGP Supersport: 1st P. Hickman 127.333mph, 2nd D. Harrison 127.258, 3rd B. Anstey 126.399, 4th L. Johnston 126.370, 5th W. Dunlop 125.995, 6th 125.984

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph