Belfast Telegraph

Why I owe the boss a beer, explains Irwin after equalling dad's Sunflower Trophy record


By Roy Harris

Glenn Irwin returned from British Superbike duties to retain the Sunflower Trophy at Bishopscourt after dominating the 10-lap race in wet conditions.

Shortened from 12 laps due to the weather, Irwin quickly overtook early leader Alastair Seeley and pulled clear of a ding dong battle for second between Seeley, Danny Buchan, Carl Phillips and Michael Laverty.

Laverty was impressing on his return to the Tyco BMW outfit and his final lap was the fastest of the race at 93.352mph, having raced impressively through to second at the chequered flag, half a second behind the PBM Be Wiser Ducati of Irwin.

Carl Phillips rode his MD Suzuki past Danny Buchan at the final corner to snatch third with Seeley fifth.

Irwin, who was equalling his father Alan's record of two Sunflower Trophy wins, said: "Conditions were not great, but we dug deep and it's a credit to the whole team as the bike was faultless. A special thanks to the boss, Paul Bird, for sending our team across here at his own expense - I owe him a beer."

Irwin was making it a double at the meeting having won Friday's opening Superbike race, but Laverty who claimed the Man of the Meeting award with a win, two seconds and a fourth in the four Superbike events.

Laverty said: "We didn't quite manage to win the big trophy this year in the wet, but I was quite happy with how the meeting went overall. It was good to be back home racing in front of the home fans here at Bishopscourt for Tyco BMW."

Jason Lynn and Korie McGreevy shared two cracking Supersport race honours, Lynn winning race one from Kia McGreevy and his older brother Korie, half a second covering the trio, while in race two it was the older McGreevy winning from Robert Kennedy and Lynn with a second between them.

Former world champion Tim Reeves with Harry Payne in the chair won the second sidecar race by a second from TT winner John Holden with Mark Wilkes in the chair, Holden having won race one from Reeves by five seconds.

Darryl Sharkey won both Pre Injection races while Kennedy and Christian Elkin shared the Supertwins.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph