Belfast Telegraph

Acid test ahead for Portrush in last eight

By David Mason

Portrush marched into the quarter finals of the IBA Senior Cup on Saturday, but Ian McClure admits his team's trophy credentials will be tested next time out!

The Ramore Head boys brushed off the challenge of Dundonald, claiming a 40 shots victory to earn a spot in the last eight against either their Provincial rivals Cookstown or Dunbarton on July 26.

"It will be a massive challenge," said McClure. "Both clubs are playing well, with Dunbarton sitting at the top of the PGL Division One and Cookstown only a couple of points behind Ballymoney in our league.

"We are delighted to be in the last eight . . . keeping the Provincial interest going. We've had a good cup run, beating Shorts, Dungannon and now Dundonald, but our next game undoubtedly be our acid test."

McClure, who will captain Ireland in next week's Home International Championships at Leamington Spa, was Portrush's top performer, skipping his rink to an impressive 30-8 victory over Colin Orderley.

Gary McCloy and Eddie Curran also made a significant contribution by beating Noel McCabe (30-16) and Mark Foster (26-18).

Jim Frazer prevented the rampant home team from completing a clean sweep with a 19-15 win against Derek Smith.

Cookstown and Dunbarton will slog it out next week in a bid to claim the final slot in the last eight after the Co Tyrone side dumped out Northern Ireland Civil Service at Stormont in their postponed tie, winning on all four rinks. Mark Wilson returned the most impressive card following a thumping 30-13 victory against Freddie Murdock.

Little Ballycastle's romance with the tournament hit the buffers at Portadown.

Following their shock win at Larne last time out, the Provincial side were taken apart at Pleasure Gardens, beaten 92-45 despite Fred Morrow's three shots (16-13) success against Dayne Jordan.

IBA Senor Cup quarter finals: Belmont v Banbridge, Divis v Pickie, Cookstown/Dunbarton v Portrush, Old Bleach v Portadown.

IBA Junior Cup, quarter finals: Coleraine v Dunbarton, Dungiven v Pickie, Lurgan v Limavady, Railway Union v Ballymena.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph