Belfast Telegraph

Bangor uncork the bubbly after taking first title for five years


Champion stuff: Bangor’s Robert Hastings
Champion stuff: Bangor’s Robert Hastings

By Alex Mills

Bangor cracked open the bubbly on Saturday after clinching the Northern Ireland Bowling Association Division One title for the first time since 2014.

With only one game remaining - Banbridge at home next weekend - the Seasiders are on course to complete the campaign with an unblemished record as they have won all 17 matches.

The title success also helped break Whitehead's stranglehold of the trophy because they were crowned champions for the past four years.

Bangor had one little piece of housekeeping to attend to before the champagne was taken off the ice. They made the short journey to Newtownards to pick-pocket six points against Londonderry Park.

"It's been a fantastic team performance throughout the campaign," said Bangor's Robert Hastings. "Obviously, the key to the title win was the home and away victories against Whitehead.

Having also won the NIBA Senior Cup, Bangor can reflect on one of their most successful seasons for many years.

There was never any chance of them slipping up at Londonderry Park. They roared to a 92-68 victory, courtesy of rink wins by Gary Scott, Keith Taylor and Hastings.

Meanwhile, Dunbarton are on the verge of wrapping up the Private Greens League Division One title, while Ballymoney secured the Provincial Senior League crown. Should Dunbarton defeat Larne at their Gilford base tonight, they will rack up a hat-trick of title wins.

Results: Northern Ireland Bowling Association Division One: Banbridge 94 (6) Portadown 59 (1), Londonderry Park 68 (1) Bangor 92 (6), Balmoral 65 (2) Whitehead 92 (5), Sydenham 70 (0.5) Donaghadee 86 (6.5).

Northern Ireland Private Greens League Division One: Pickie 86 (6) Falls 76 (0), Larne 109 (7) Sailsbury 50 (0), Belmont 71 (2) Dunbarton 72 (5), Ballymena 120 (7) Ewarts 60 (0), Old Bleach 92 (6) Ballymena B 61 (1).

Northern Ireland Provincial Bowling Association Senior League: Ballymoney 68 (4) Portrush 68 (3), Coleraine 78 (5) Cookstown 72 (2), Letterkenny 69 (1) Limavady 102 (6).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph