Belfast Telegraph

Barry Kane completes his clean sweep of medals with Ballymoney gold

By David Mason

Barry Kane at last got his hands on the Provincial Bowling Association's singles title at Ballymoney on Saturday.

The Ireland international not only became the first Dunluce player to lift the crown since Harry Elliott's success back in 1993, but also earned a clean sweep of Provincial medals.

Kane is now a regular on the winners' rostrum. Only last month he was crowned British pairs champion, along with his brother Rodney, in Wales.

Their latest success means the Kanes have now racked up a staggering 22 Provincial titles between them - 12 for Barry.

Barry's singles victory means he joins an elite posse of players to have won every Provincial honour and he already had the fours title in the locker before popping the bubbly on his latest party piece. Joined by Alistair Kennedy and Uel McKeeman, the Dunluce combination were just too slick for the Cookstown rink skipped by Damien McElroy, who fell to a 27-17 defeat.

"I'm delighted to have added to my list of titles," said Barry. "I'd previously won the pairs, triples and fours and also the Under-25 singles, so it's a big thrill to complete the set. It was a superb weekend for me personally, but also for the club."

Results: Northern Ireland Provincial Bowling Association Championships: Singles: B Kane (Dunluce) 21 N McCaw (Ballymoney) 14.

Youth singles: R Hutchinson (Castlerock) 21 M Williamson (Dunluce) 14.

Under-25 singles: JP Fahy (Portrush) 16 M Gallagher (Letterkenny) 21.

Pairs: G Smith, M Wilson (Cookstown) 22 M McCracken, D McElroy (Cookstown) 16.

Triples: C McKnight, T Vance, S Quinn (Cookstown) 16 B Hughes, N McCaw, B McAlary (Ballymoney) 8.

Fours: A Kennedy, U McKeeman, R Kane, B Kane (Dunluce) 25 M Trimby, E Sands, L McHugh, D McElroy (Cookstown) 17.

Senior Fours: S Walker, H Paul, T Smith, W McCaw (Ballymoney) 24 S Corscadden, V Blair, R Brown, W Moore (Limavady) 21.

NIBA Division One: Whitehead 83 (3) Balmoral 70 (1), Portadown 83 (2) Dundonald 89 (5): Dromore 72 (1) Bangor 85 (6), Lisnagarvey 88 (6) Divis 51 (1).

NI Private Greens League Division One: Ulster Transport 86 (5) Pickie 74 (2), Dunbarton 119 (7) Ewarts 48 (0), Ballymena 70 (1) Belmont 72 (6), Old Bleach 78 (4) Larne 77 (3), NICS 67 (1) Mossley 78 (6).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph