Belfast Telegraph

Champion McClure has memorable double in mind

By David Mason

Portrush's Ian McClure may be only two games away from retaining the Provincial Bowling Association’s singles title, but he insists there is still a long way to go.

The Ireland international goes head-to-head with Coleraine’s Jonathan Calvin in a semi-final showdown at Magherafelt today.

“It’s a real tough line-up,” said McClure, who last had his hands on the trophy back in 2008. “I’ll need to be at my best to be in with a chance of making Saturday’s final.”

McClure also has an interest in the triples. He teams up with Jackie Smyth and Derek Smith for a clash against the title holders from Ballymoney, skipped by Alan Paul.

There is the possibility of an all-Portrush final as Gary McCloy and Dunluce’s Rodney Kane battle it out in the other semi-final.

Cookstown’s Colin Hogg and Mark Wilson are back to defend their pairs title and will be in no mood to give it up cheaply when they line out against Ballycastle’s Frank Morrow.

Hogg and Wilson will be in action in this evening’s session, in the fours championship.

They team up with Philip Wallace and Sean Quinn against Aidan Reid, Tommy Smith, Willie McCaw and Gary Kelly, from current champions. Ballymoney.

Under-25 singles champion Aaron Tennant has forged his way into the season’s semi-finals where he’ll oppose City of Derry’s Richard Kincaid.

Today’s PBA semi-finals

Singles, 2.30pm: R Kane (Dunluce) v G McCloy (Portrush). I McClure (Portrush) v J Calvin (Coleraine). 7pm: A Cassley (Kilrea) v J Vauls (Coleraine).

Youth singles, 7pm: A Clyde (Dunluce) v G McConnell (Coleraine). M Clyde (Dunluce) v M Jones (Portglenone).

Under-25 singles, 2.30pm: A Tennant (Ballymoney) v R Kincaid (City of Derry).

Pairs, 1.30pm: J Mullan, L Graham (City of Derry) v J Dallas, V Dallas (Coleraine). 1.30pm: C Hogg, M Wilson (Cookstown) v N McNeill, F Morrow (Ballycastle).

Triples, 1.30pm: A Calvin, D Gaille, I Ross (Brookgreen) v A Reid, A Steele, W McCaw (Ballymoney). 6.30pm: J Smyth, D Smith, I McClure (Portrush) v A Tennant, A Walker, A Paul (Ballymoney).

Fours, 6pm: B Smyth, R Kane, M McKeeman, B Kane (Dunluce) v J Dallas, J Calvin, S Brewster, V Dallas (Coleraine). A Reid, T Smith, W McCaw, G Kelly (Ballymoney) v P Wallace, S Quinn, M Wilson, C Hogg (Cookstown).

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph