| 18.2°C Belfast

CIYMS to launch T20 Cup defence with away trip



Paul Stirling

Paul Stirling

�INPHO/Oisin Keniry

Paul Stirling

CIYMS, who won a clean sweep of trophies in the NCU last season, will open their defence of the Lagan Valley Steels T20 Cup with an away game against newly-promoted Woodvale.

This year's competition - with the winners qualifying for the National T20 Cup - will be a straight knockout tournament with the quarter-finals being played on Sunday, July 26. The semi-finals and final will follow at two-weekly intervals, allowing for a reserve date the following Sunday if rain intervenes.

The Premier League and Challenge Cup will not be played for this year, with the league being replaced by a 20-over League Cup competition, sponsored by Robinson Services. The games will be played on seven successive Saturdays - with no re-arrangements - but Ireland squad members will miss the first three rounds, and the T20 Cup quarter-finals, because they will be across the water for three ODIs against England. They leave on the season's opening day, July 18.

That's particularly bad news for North Down, who will be without new signing Paul Stirling for four games.

T20 Cup draw: (1) Waringstown v CSN, (2) North Down v Instonians, (3) Woodvale v CIYMS (4) Carrickfergus v Lisburn. Semi-finals (Aug 9): 1 v 2 and 3 v 4. Final Aug 23.

Robinson Services League Cup fixtures

July 18: CIYMS v CSN, Instonians v Waringstown, Lisburn v Woodvale, North Down v Carrickfergus.

July 25: CIYMS v Lisburn, CSN v Instonians, Waringstown v North Down, Woodvale v Carrickfergus.

August 1: Carrickfergus v CIYMS, CSN v Lisburn, North Down v Instonians, Woodvale v Waringstown.

August 8: Carrickfergus v CSN, Instonians v CIYMS, Waringstown v Lisburn, Woodvale v North Down.

August 15: CIYMS v Waringstown, CSN v North Down, Instonians v Woodvale, Lisburn v Carrickfergus.

August 22: Carrickfergus v Waringstown, CSN v Woodvale, Lisburn v Instonians, North Down v CIYMS

August 29: CIYMS v Woodvale, Instonians v Carrickfergus, Lisburn v North Down, Waringstown v CSN.

September 5: Semi-finals. Sept 12: Final

The default time for all games is 2pm but clubs can agree any start time up to 5pm.

Belfast Telegraph