Belfast Telegraph

Cricket: All white on night for happy Instonians

Ulster Cup Final

By Ian Callender

Instonians ended the season as they began it, with victory over North Down, and this time they have a trophy to show for it.

Captain John Stevenson lifted the ClubTurf Ulster Cup after their two main players, Regan West and Andrew White, put on an undefeated 123 for the third wicket to take them through their winning target of 207.

White was named man of the match for his 70 not out from just 54 balls, edging out the returning West, who finished on 84.

It was White, as he done more than once on the big occasion for Ireland, who scored the winning runs, with his 10th boundary and ninth four, to give Instonians their first trophy in eight years. They won the first ClubTurf final at Shane Park in 1999.

North Down showed no ill effects from their championship success less than 24 hours earlier and, on the day, were beaten by two classy innings.

White survived a couple of near misses just after he brought up his 50 from 45 balls but West, who only completed a four-game suspension last week, played a chanceless, perfectly timed innings. Instonians had exactly three overs to spare.

North Down professional Taimur Khan got into the 90s for the second successive game - he has scored 277 in the last week - but, seven short of his century, was caught behind off Eugene Moleon, one of seven bowlers who took a wicket in the final but no-one managed a second.

Moleon's 27 runs from his eight overs was the most economical on a day when, as expected, batsmen ruled on Bangor's slow, low artificial pitch.

At one stage, North Down were looking at 240 but Billy Dale and West, until he conceded 14 off his last over, clawed Instonians back into the game and their mid-innings spell proved decisive in ending North Down's dreams of a treble.

Meanwhile, the league action yesterday confirmed Downpatrick will join Lurgan in Section Two next year, Derriaghy's 40 runs win against Lisburn ensuring even run-rate could not save Downpatrick.

They will be replaced in the Premier League next season by CIYMS and Cliftonville, the latter confirming their promotion with victory against Muckamore, even before CI beat Woodvale.

Johnny Hewitt batted through the CI innings, scoring 121 not out with 10 fours and two sixes.

In the North West, Ardmore completed back to back victories against St Johnston and North Fermanagh to guarantee themselves an immediate return to Senior One.

Victory against the Donegal side, their only remaining rivals for the title, on Saturday left Ardmore needing to beat bottom of the table North Fermanagh yesterday and they needed only 20 overs to chase down their target of 90 and complete a six wickets win.

ClubTurf Ulster Cup final

At Upritchard Park, Instonians beat North Down by eight wickets.

North Down 206-5 (40 overs, Taimur Khan 93, Ry Haire 32, M Moreland 23 not out, R Coetzee 21) Instonians 210-2 (37 overs, R West 84 not out, A White 70 not out, J Stevenson 41).

Ulster Bank Premier League

At Queensway, Derriaghy beat Lisburn by 40 runs.

Derriaghy 141 (P van Niekerk 52, C Adams 26; U Graham 4-11, G Thompson 2-10, D Graham 2-22) Lisburn 101 (T McKeown 36, D Graham 22; N Gill 5-20, A van der Merwe 2-15, A Lewis 2-30).

Section Two

At McComb Park, Laurelvale beat Dunmurry by 15 runs.

Laurelvale 306-9 (W Pearson 106, C McCrum 101, G Steenson 20; N McFadzean 3-49, R Shah 2-64) Dunmurry 291 (N Connelly 77, C Coburn 74, C Whyte 42, D Connelly 36; J Conn 5-50, D Sinton 3-74).

At Moylena, Cliftonville beat Muckamore by seven wickets.

Muckamore 129 (B Dunlop 53, J Kennedy 27; P Stirling 3-23, C McCully 2-9) Cliftonville 133-3 (25.5 overs, B Williams 41 no, D Munn 28 no).

At Ballygomartin Road, CIYMS beat Woodvale by eight wickets.

Woodvale 239-7 (A Kirkpatrick 61, I Cleland 45, B Meyer 42, S Johnston 31) CIYMS 242-2 (46 overs, J Hewitt 121 not out, M Dempsey 65 not out, D Heasley 24).

Henderson Property League Senior Two

North Fermanagh 89 (R Aslam 5-8) Ardmore 90-4 (C Curley 35, Ger McAuley 32). Ardmore won by six wickets and are champions.

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph