Belfast Telegraph

Cricket: Brigade’s double vision adds to three-way battle in Senior League One

By Ian Callender

It appears to be three-team fight to the finish in the Henderson Properties Senior League One after Brigade, Bready and Strabane opened up a four-point gap at the top of the table.

Bready’s victory, by two wickets, over Fox Lodge yesterday and Glendermott’s six wickets success over defending joint champions Limavady has left the Foxes and the Roesiders four points off the pace with just three games to play.

Senior Cup winners Brigade remain on course for the double after beating Coleraine yesterday by 81 runs, Ifti Hussain hitting 106 of his side’s 240 for eight, helped in no small measure by Ryan Brace’s 48 in an eighth wicket stand of 80. Richard Wylie then took five for 30 as the Bannsiders were bowled out in the 47th over.

Strabane, the other defending joint champions and this year’s beaten finalists in the cup, followed up their thrilling one-wicket victory over Donemana on Saturday — Marty Deans and Phil Eaglestone scored the last eight runs — with a more comfortable 88 runs success over Eglinton. Mark Gillespie top scored with 52 in the Red Caps’ 242 for nine.

Bready won the big match of the weekend thanks to an unbeaten ninth wicket stand of 37 between Brian Scanlon and Ross Campbell as they passed Fox Lodge’s 243 for eight with 10 balls to spare. Campbell won the match with a six. On Saturday, Ian Young was the Magheramason side’s top scorer with 65 and the total of 231 for nine was 28 runs too many for Coleraine despite Mohammad Salman’s 103.

Decker Curry also scored 103 for Limavady as they made 259 for nine but it wasn’t enough as Stephen Smyth and Jason Lynch put on an undefeated 119 for the seventh wicket to win with 14 balls to spare. Smyth finished 80 not out and hit seven fours and three sixes.

Donemana were yesterday’s other winners, dismissing St Johnston for just 67 to win by 151 runs. Seventeen-year- old Andy McBrine had figures of five for 13 and even younger William McBrine and Kyle Dougherty took the last three wickets.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph