Cricket Ireland have confirmed that their disciplinary committee will, in the first instance, deal with the abandoned Bob Kerr Irish Senior Cup tie between Limavady and Instonians.
A statement from CI yesterday said that the official report has been received from the umpires, and when the disciplinary process has been completed, only then will the status of the match be decided.
Both teams went into the hat for the quarter-final draw and were drawn at home to Railway Union, last year’s beaten finalists.
The statement from the governing body said that all relevant parties will be contacted by the Convenor, in due course, and added: “On the separate issue of the result of the match, both clubs will also be asked for their comments on the Umpires' Report before a decision is taken on the status of the match.”
The game was abandoned by the umpires when the teams took the field after a prolonged tea interval.
Following an alleged assault on Instonians’ Ireland international Andrew White during the break, the NCU side did not take the field at the scheduled resumption time.
More than half an hour later, following talks with the umpires and telephone calls to Cricket Ireland officials, Instonians agreed to continue the match, but told Limavady they were only playing under protest.
When the home side, who had been waiting on the field for the previous half-hour, learned of this, they said there was no point continuing with the match and the umpires abandoned the game.
Instonians have issued their own statement, basically saying that there would be no comment until a decision has been reached by Cricket Ireland.
It said: “Instonians Cricket Club can confirm an incident took place at Limavady Cricket Club (on Saturday) and will fully co-operate with Cricket Ireland's investigation. There will be no other comment from any Instonians player or official until further notice.
“Finally we would ask in the circumstances for everyone to respect the players’ privacy in this matter.”
Limavady, meanwhile, have taken their own action against Decker Curry for the manner in which he left the crease after his first ball dismissal in the match.
Curry wrecked the stumps with his bat after being given out, caught at slip, to a ball that he believed did not carry to the fielder. The Roesiders have banned their veteran former captain for Limavady’s next two Irish Cup matches.
If Limavady are dismissed from the competition, it is unlikely that the ban will have any effect as Curry (44) had to be persuaded to play this season and it must be doubtful if he will play for another year.
However, a Limavady club spokesman said: “We expect the first of those matches to be in the next round of this year’s competition.”