Belfast Telegraph

Cricket: North Down to take on Brigade

By Robert Fenton

Holders North Down, who won this year's ClubTurf Ulster Cup by using ineligible player Peter Connell, will have to face North West League champions Brigade in the opening round of next season's competition.

North Down were stripped of the Senior League title and the Twenty20 Trophy by the Northern Cricket Union for using Connell who was deemed not to have been properly registered in the early part of the season.

However, the Northern Ireland Cricket Associaton who run the ClubTurf trophy, appear to have ignored that fact and decided to do nothing.

The first round meeting is a repeat of last year's clash which the Comber side won by just one run in a 10-over game.

They then went on to reach the final, where they defeated Limavady.

The Roesiders have also been handed a tricky tie, when they face double NCU champions Waringstown, who will be playing in the competition for the first time in their history.

Ballyspallen are at home to CSNI, while Lisburn, winners in 2000, face Glendermott.

Northern Bank Cup holders Eglinton have home advantage over Bangor, while Carrick take on Bready.

Donemana winners in 2004, face Downpatrick at The Holm, while the final tie also sees a repeat of 2006, with the inaugural winners Instonians playing 2005 winners Strabane.

The draw was also made for the 2007 White Horse Inn Ulster Shield.

Holders Muckamore will be pleased with having ground advantage over St Johnston, while the two teams relegated from the respective premier leagues last season take on each other, with Ardmore facing Cliftonville.

ClubTurf Ulster Cup: Limavady v Waringstown, North Down v Brigade, Ballyspallen v CSNI, Lisburn v Glendermott, Eglinton v Bangor, Carrick v Bready, Donemana v Downpatrick, Instonians v Strabane.

White Horse Inn Ulster Shield: Burndennett v Armagh, Muckamore v St Johnston, Ardmore v Cliftonville, Holywood v Killyclooney, Creevedonnell v Laurevale, Woodvale v Bonds Glen, Coleraine v CIYMS, Dunmurry v Sion Mills

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph