Belfast Telegraph

Delighted Farah wins his fourth Great North Run in just four years

By Robert Jones

Sir Mo Farah made history once again as he won his fourth successive Great North Run title.

Great Britain's four-time Olympic champion overcame the challenge of Jake Robertson of New Zealand in the closing stages of the race to finish in a time of one hour and six seconds.

Farah becomes the first athlete to win the Great North Run four times in a row, and is now level in terms of most victories with Kenya's Benson Masya, who was champion four times in the 1990s.

Farah said after his season-concluding race: "That was really, really tough. I'm sore everywhere - I've never been this sore!

"Doing less (in training than he normally would) was definitely telling. With four miles to go, I was just hanging on, gritting my teeth.

"I'm so pleased with how the season has gone. I'll go on a little holiday with the missus and then come back fresh. I'm looking forward to sticky toffee pudding and apple pie!"

Ethiopia's Mary Keitany won the women's race for a third time, with compatriot and 2016 champion Vivian Cheruiyot coming second and Caroline Kipkirui of Kenya third.

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph