| 12.3°C Belfast

DJ Wilson at the double as Dunbarton take top accolade at Old Beach


Marty McHugh

Dunbarton's DJ Wilson was a double winner in the Private Greens League Championships at Old Bleach, helping his club lift the Centenary Trophy.

The Irish international walked away with the singles and pairs titles which guaranteed the Gilford side the inaugural top overall prize awarded to the most successful club.

Wilson, who has previously won the singles crown on two occasions, defeated Belmont's Stuart Bennett 21-14 in a gripping decider. He earlier teamed up with Conor McCartan in the pairs to claim an impressive 21-12 win over Adam McKeown and Eddie Crawford from Mossley.

"I'm thrilled with the victory," said Wilson. "It's been a long time my last singles success in 2003.

"I had a great run in the championships and was determined to see it through. I can now look forward to the Irish Championships later in the season."

Meanwhile, Marty McHugh was back on the winners' rostrum in the NIBA Championships at Carrickfergus.

The Whitehead man may have clocked up numerous singles and pairs victories in recent years, but this time he got his hands on the triples trophy for the first time since 1997.

Joined by Jack Montgomery and JR Wilson, McHugh held his nerve when it mattered to edge over the finish line by only one shot (15-14) against a battling Banbridge outfit, skipped by Kyle Blakely.

With Ryan McKeown defeating Jack Moffett of Banbridge 21-20 in the final of the Under-25 singles, it meant that Whitehead lifted the George Richardson Bowls Trophy, awarded to the most successful club at the championships.

NIPGL Championships, Under-18 singles: A McKeown (Mossley) 21 W Orr (Comber) 10.

Under-25 singles: R Cavan (Belmont) 21 S Kirkwood (Old Bleach) 11.

Singles: DJ Wilson (Dunbarton) 21 S Bennett (Belmont) 14.

Pairs: A McKeown, E Crawford (Mossley) 12 C McCartan, DJ Wilson (Dunbarton) 21.

Triples: P Robinson, M Murphy, A Kyle (Larne) 12 S Barkley, R Kirkwood, M Nutt (Old Bleach) 21.

Fours: J Millar, D Duncan, A Morrison, A Duncan (Ballymena) 19; JR Nicholl, Aaron Coleman, Alistair, Coleman, S Coleman (Ballymena) 12.

Senior fours: D Hiles, E Dowds, J Moore, J Millar (Willowfield) 16 P Lillys, J Kerr, M Morgan, J McGetterick (Falls) 17.

NIPBA Championships, Under-18 singles: B Hutchinson (Castlerock) 12 Stratton (Ballymoney) 21.

Under-25 singles: JP Fahy (Portrush) 20 A Tennant (Ballymoney) 21.

Singles: M Wilson (Cookstown) 21 B Kane (Dunluce) 26.

Pairs: A Reid, B Smyth (Ballymoney) 12 A Tennant, G Kelly (Ballymoney) 26.

Triples: R McAllister, T Colvin, S Colvin (Portrush) 16 B Hughes, N McCaw, B McAlary (Ballymoney) 10.

Fours: J Shepherd, P Wallace, C Hogg, M Wilson (Cookstown) 22 A Steele, O Steele, B Smyth, W McCaw (Ballymoney) 20.

Senior fours: S Corscadden, V Blair, R Brown, W Moore (Limavady) 17 T Johnston, W Lennox, E Sands, C Hogg (Cookstown) 18 (after extra end).

NIBA Championships, Under-18 singles: J Moffett (Banbridge) 21 R Craig (Balmoral) 6.

Under-25 singles: J Moffett (Banbridge) v R McKeown (Whitehead) (to be arranged).

Singles: S McKinley (Whitehead) 14 N Graham (Lisnagarvey) 21.

Pairs: P Cromie, N Graham (Lisnagarvey) 14; B Power, G McGleave (Divis) 16.

Triples: J Montgomery, JR Wilson, M McHugh (Whitehead) 15; K Blakely, J Moffett, G Blakely (Banbridge) 14.

Fours: R McKeown, S Moran, P Weir, J Caldwell (Whitehead) 12 R Beattie, J Erskine, K Taylor, S Denley (Bangor) 20.

Senior fours: L Ferguson, H Kerr, A Baillie, S Bewley (North Down) 28 R Bradley, S Swann, S McKibbin, J McIlwrath (Curran) 12. Squads: Ronnie O'Sullivan.

Belfast Telegraph