Belfast Telegraph

Don't write us off urges Bannsiders' Dallas

By David Mason

Coleraine's Jordan Dallas believes his team will start as underdogs against Belmont at Lodge Road tomorrow, but warned: "Don't write us off."

The sides last met in the IBA Senior Cup back in 2003, with the Belfast boys claiming a narrow 10 shots victory.

Belmont have written their own little chapter in the history of the tournament, being the only team to have paraded the trophy on five successive occasions, back in 2003-2007.

Surprisingly, that was the last time they have mounted the winners' rostrum, following their eighth overall triumph.

In contrast, the Bannsiders ended a 92-year wait when they defeated Ballyoney in 2013.

Having enjoyed an opening round bye, both Coleraine and Belmont now face the possibility of an early exit - something Dallas wants to avoid if possible.

"Belmont will be favourites ... a team packed with international players," said Dallas. "But we have produced some of our best form in the IBA Cup in recent seasons, winning the trophy in 2013 and reaching the semi final in 2012 and again last year.

"But we are under no illusions, Belmont will be such a difficult game. It was quite close the last time the teams met in the competition. We can beat any side if we play to our full potential and that's the mindset that we have to take into the game."

Fixtures IBA Senior Cup, round two: Dungannon v Portrush, Bangor v Dundonald, Dun Laogharie v Limavady, Ewarts v Lisnagarvey, Old Bleach v Ulster Transport, Ballymena v Dunbarton, Carrickfergus v Divis, Mossley v Crumlin, Cookstown v Whitehead, Larne v CYM, Kenilworth v Falls, Blackrock v NICS, Coleraine v Belmont, Lurgan v Letterkenny, Albert Foundry v Dunluce, Meath v Ballymoney.

NIBA Junior Cup, round two: Curran v Ballymoney, Crumlin v Castlerock, Whitehead v Banbridge, Old Bleach v St James's Gate, Brokgreen v Cookstown, Limavady v Carrickfergus, Belfast v BETS, Letterkenny v Lurgan, Ballymena C v Donaghadee, Coleraine v Larne, CYM v Antrim, Castle v Portadown, Belmont C v Willowfield, Falls v Westmanstown, Balmoral v Dunbarton, Ards v Rathfriland.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph