Belfast Telegraph

Dunbarton double up to claim top spot in Private Greens League Division One

By David Mason

Dunbarton yesterday blasted their way to the top of the Private Greens League Division One table after enjoying a demolition job on Ewarts at Gilford.

It was a profitable 24 hours for the Gilford team because they also reeled in a crucial six points from the visit of Ulster Transport on Saturday.

The two victories - they scored a full house against an ailing Ewarts side - gives Dunbarton a five-and-a-half points cushion over Larne, with only one game remaining.

But Belmont are hovering menacingly in third place. Although they are now seven-and-a-half points behind the leaders, crucially they have two games left against Pickie and Ards, who will almost certainly return to Division Two for next season.

"It's a great finish to the campaign," said Dunbarton's Andy Hughes. "We needed seven points from the Ewarts game just to keep the pressure on.

"But we still face a big test on September 8 in our final league game at Ballymena."

It could all change again tomorrow night when Belmont roll out the welcome mat for Pickie in what may develop into a title decider.

Dunbarton set up the thrilling finale without breaking sweat against Ewarts. Myles Greenfield led the charge by skipping his rink to a whopping 32-10 against Jackie Templeton.

Results: NI Private Greens League Division One: Dunbarton 99 (7) Ewarts 50 (0), Pickie 59 (1) Ballymena 85 (6), Belmont 95 (7) Olc Bleach 62 (0), Larne 93 (7) Ards 64 (0), Ewarts 88 (5) Willowfield 79 (2) Dunbarton 99 (6) Ulster Transport 63 (1).

Northern Ireland Bowling Association Division One: Divis 87 (6) Lisnagarvey 54 (0), Whitehead 82 (7) Banbridge 52 (0), Balmoral 96 (7) Portadown 60 (0), Lurgan 80 (2) Carrick 90 (7), Dundonald 85 (6.5) Bangor 74 (0.4).

NI Provincial Bowling Asosociation Senior League: City of Derry 54 (1) Ballymoney 98 (6), Portglenone 72 (5) Portrush 63 (2), Ballycastle 76 (1) Dunluce 78 (6), Letterkenny 81 (5.5) Limavady 66 (1.5).

Irish Women's Bowling Association National Championships

Finals: Singles: A Weir (NIWPGL) 17 R Brown (LBLI) 21.

Pairs: C McQuade, C O'Gorman (LBLI) 19 P Curry, B O'Neill (NIPTWBA) 15.

Triples: P Ross, H Cavan, A Weir (NIWPGL) 14 J Lyden, C Quinn, P Mackle (NIWBA) 13.

Fours: P Ross, W Adair, H Cavan, A Weir (NIWPGL) 20 S Garvey, SJ Curran, D McCloy, J Dowds (NIPTWBA) 11.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph