Belfast Telegraph

Dunluce to face Portrush in crunch derby tie

By David Mason

Dunluce set up a derby clash with Portrush by completing a demolition job on Portadown to roar into round two of the IBA Senior Cup.

The Provincial team arrived at Pleasure Gardens on Saturday unbeaten in league action and, on this form, will fancy their chances of going the distance in the top cup tournament after a 93-76 win.

Irish international Barry Kane led by example, skipping his rink to a 25-15 win over David Beatty. Rodney Kane and Mervyn McKeeman also made telling contributions with victories against David Wright (18-15) and Richard McMullan (22-18).

Portadown's Simon Lyttle battled out a 28-28 result with Uel McKeeman on the final rink.

"It took us a little while to settle, but once we got the feel of the green, we were comfortable," said Barry Kane.

"We now face a massive game against our neighbours Portrush in the next round."

Ballymoney also had little difficulty in claiming a spot in the second phase, beating NIBA Division Two side Castle 85-60.

Nicky McCaw and Alistair Steele ensured there was to be no cup shock by beating Harry Dinsmore (33-11) and Henry McFarland (25-10).

However Castle did spring a surprise on the other rinks with Joe Mercer beating Ireland international Gary Kelly 17-15 and Gary Peters enjoying a 22-12 success over Willie McCaw.

Balmoral hammered Forth River 94-45 at Belvoir Drive.

Coleraine had a staggering 107-57 win at NIBA Division One side Dromore.

IBA Senior Cup round two (May 28): Ballymena Park v Falls, Leinster v N Down, Shorts v Portglenone, Ewarts v Aer Lingus, Ards v Sydenham, NICS v Ballycastle, Mountainview v Crumlin, Newcastle v Cookstown, Belmont v Glengormley, Lisnagarvey v Rathfriland, Hilden v Dundonald, Mossley v CYM, Dunluce v Portrush, Larne v Coleraine, Derry v Blackrock, Ballywalter v Saintfield, Cavehill v Carrick, Pickie v Salisbury, Ierne v Curran, Londonderry P v Lagan V, Westmanstown v Lurgan, Bangor v O Bleach, Bessbrook v Dunbarton, Castleton v Cliftonville, St James G v Willowfield, Gallaher v Ulster T, Belmont P v Ballymoney, Dungannon v Brookgreen, Whitehead v N'abbey, Balmoral v Limavady, Divis v Banbridge, Ballymena v Ulster Maple Leaf.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph