Belfast Telegraph

First Commonwealth Games medal for Northern Ireland

The Northern Ireland Commonwealth Games team secured its first medal today with a bronze for the team pursuit cyclists.

The quartet of Sean Downey, Martyn Irvine, Philip Lavery and David McCann saw off the challenge of India to take third place as Australia claimed gold ahead of New Zealand.

It was Australia's eighth gold from nine events at the velodrome, with yesterday's men's keirin the only title missing as Malaysia's Josiah Ng triumphed.

Australia claimed another gold as Shane Perkins won the men's sprint competition ahead of compatriot Scott Sunderland with New Zealand's Sam Webster taking the bronze.

Perkins defeated Scotland's Ross Edgar in the quarter-final, while S0underland, the one-kilometre time-trial champion, accounted for David Daniell at the same stage of the competition.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph