| 2.6°C Belfast

Hockey: Magnificent seven lands cup for Lurgan

Lurgan College were crowned All Ireland champions in Limerick yesterday after a nailbiting finale to the Kate Russell Cup competition.

The Belfast Telegraph Cup holders had to sweat it out as they watched the last game of the day between Alexandra College and hosts Crescent Comprehensive.

The Dublin side won 6-1, but it wasn't enough as Lurgan took the honours on goal difference.

Lurgan had earlier done their bit by beating Loreto Kilkenny 7-0 to set Alex a tough task.

In their opening game the Co Armagh outfit had beaten Colaiste Iognaid of Connacht 3-0.

Kim Scott, Bethany Barr and Hanna Grieve scoring after all the teams went into day two level on points.

Chloe McCann stole the show in the win over Loreto scoring four goals with Grieve weighing in with a hat-trick.

Meanwhile Lisnagarvey moved back into an automatic promotion place in Senior One with a 5-0 win over Dromore on Thursday and are in pole position as they bid to make an immediate return to the top flight.

Coach Maggie Hunter knows there will be plenty of hard work ahead if they are to get up.

“I think there's quite a gap between the two leagues and clubs in the Premier division have the edge on commitment and fitness.” she said.

“We will have to up ours if we do get up as our aim will be to retain our place and not go straight down again.”

'Garvey have superb facilities in Hillsborough and they believe they now have a team that can match them.

"The good thing now is that we now have a better degree of strength in depth with our seconds doing well." said Hunter.

"They are through to the Irish Junior Cup final for the first time ever and they are playing in the top league for second elevens."

Today's fixtures: ONE 1918 Premier League: Ballymoney v Armagh (230pm), Harlequins v Ards (230pm), Lurgan v Pegasus (230pm), Randalstown v Ulster Elks (230pm), Knock v Queen's (4pm).

Senior One: Dromore v Victorians (230pm), Greenisland v Lisnagarvey (time tbc), North Down v Cookstown (1pm), Omagh v Ballymena (time tbc).

Belfast Telegraph