Belfast Telegraph

Moffett in the driving seat as he claims Coleman Award

By Sammy Hamill

Josh Moffett, the younger of the two Monaghan brothers at the forefront of Irish rallying, is the recipient of this year's Billy Coleman Award. Moffett, one of three drivers shortlisted for Motorsport Ireland's Young Driver of the Year bursary, worth €50,000, was chosen ahead of Gary McNamee and the youngest of the trio, Callum Devine from Claudy.

Winner of the final round of this season's Irish Tarmac Championship, the Cork '20' International, Moffett follows in the footsteps of brother Sam, who won the Coleman Award in 2011. He has yet to announce his plans for next season but is expected to challenge for both the British and Irish titles.

Craig Breen, a former winner of the award and now partnering Kris Meeke in the Citroen World Championship team, was presented with the Manley Trophy as International Driver of the Year at the MI ceremony in Dublin.

Cian Carey, winner of the Boss Ireland Championship, was selected as the Young Racing Driver of the Year and Se Og Martin, the 13-year-old National Junior karting champion from Dunloy, was presented with the Neil Shanahan Trophy as top newcomer.

The Ivan Webb Memorial Award for outstanding contribution to Irish motorsport went to Kevin Barrett, recognising his role both as a competitor and sponsor of the National Rally Championship through the Triton Showers brand.

Veteran rally co-driver James O'Brien, who partnered Andrew Nesbitt to many victories, was named Clubman of the Year.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph