| 6.1°C Belfast

NIBA title tilt halted as event is washed out by storm



Disappointed: Stephen Moran. Photo: Rowland White/PressEye

Disappointed: Stephen Moran. Photo: Rowland White/PressEye

Disappointed: Stephen Moran. Photo: Rowland White/PressEye

The NIBA must make a trip to Dublin at a later date if they want to get their hands on the IBA Inter-Association Championship for the first time since 2014.

Having won their opening two games, their victory charge was abruptly halted by the atrocious weather, which forced the tournament to be abandoned.

Following an impressive 11 shots opening win against the Provincials at the Crumlin Club on Friday night, the NIBA hardened their challenge with a hard fought seven shots victory over their hot rivals, the Private Greens League, on Saturday morning - even though the match was interrupted by the heavy rain that eventually led to the green being flooded.

The NIBA were due to face the Bowling League of Ireland, who were hosting the event, at the CYM green in their final outing, but the game was washed out.

"We had contrasting weather conditions over the two days," said the NIBA's Stephen Moran.

"It's the first time in the history of the tournament that failed to finish."

Robert Hastings, Gerard McGleave Barry Browne and Mark Shannon all racked up winning scores to help the NIBA to an opening victory against the Provincials.

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

However, it was Marty McHugh's brilliant 34-11 victory over Andy Duncan that paved the way for their success in their second outing, with McGleave also chipping in with a 23-14 win against Stuart Bennett.

Results: NIBA 101 NIPBA 90 M McHugh 12 M Wilson 16, G McGleave 23 I McClure 21, M Shannon 18 G Kelly 16, R Hastings 28 B McAlarly 20. B Browne 20 B Kane 17.

BLI 101 NIPGL 98: I Wilson 20 S Coleman 25, R Leonard 16 A Duncan 19, R Maher 23 S Bennett 23, N Smyth 17 G McKee 19, S Millane 25 A Kyle 12.

NIPGL 96 NIBA 103: S Bennett 14 G McGleave 23, G McKee 22 M Shannon 16, A Kyle 23 R Hastings 18, S Coleman 26 B Browne 12, A Duncan 11 M McHugh 34.

BLI 84 NIPBA 94: R Maher 16 I McClure 17, N Smyth 12 G Kelly 28, S Millane 25 B McAlary 17, I Wilson 9 B Kane 23, R Leonard 22 M Wilson 9.

Top Videos