Belfast Telegraph

Prestigious awards are flooding in for Decker Curry

By Ian Callender

Decker Curry continues to be honoured for his sensational comeback to senior cricket. Just 36 hours after being named the North West Player of the season, the former Ireland all-rounder was yesterday named Club Player of the Year by Cricket Ireland.

Despite many run-ins with the governing body down the years, the press release said Curry has "long been regarded as one of the best cricketers Ireland has ever produced and despite entering his 48th year he is still turning out performances in top level domestic cricket".

He saw off competition from Ireland internationals Stuart Thompson and Andrew Poynter and YMCA's Simi Singh to win the coveted CI award, one of six which will return north from the lunch and presentations on Friday.

Carrickfergus have been confirmed as the Club of the Year for their four-trophy haul in 2014, culminating in winning the Ulster Bank Section One league title and a return to the Premier League.

There is a double for Waringstown with James McCollum named Junior Player of the Year and Simon Johnston is named Coach of the Year, along with his work with the Ireland Under-15 side.

Ireland international Craig Young is the Emerging International Player of the Year and for the second year in a row, international umpire Mark Hawthorne is named Official of the Year.

The top prize, the Ireland Player of the Year, goes to all-rounder Kevin O'Brien, who captained Ireland to a series win over Scotland in the one-day internationals in September, with Cecilia Joyce named Women's International Player of the Year.

The full list of winners: RSA International Men's Player of Year: Kevin O'Brien; RSA International Women's Player: Cecilia Joyce; Sunday Independent International Emerging Player: Craig Young; Castleknock Hotel Junior Player: James McCollum; Shapoorji Pallonji Cricket Ireland Academy Player: Peter Chase; Newstalk Inter-provincial Player: Andrew Poynter; O'Neill's Club Player: Decker Curry; Notts Sport Official: Mark Hawthorne; Toyota Coach of the Year: Simon Johnston; Tildenet Club of the Year: Carrickfergus; Cricket Writers Hall of Fame Induction: Jack Short

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph