| 16.7°C Belfast

Record breaker Davicia racing up the rankings in fine style



Davicia Patterson

Davicia Patterson

Davicia Patterson

Seventeen year old 400 metres star Davicia Patterson went to sixth on the Irish All Time list at the weekend when she smashed the Irish and NI Junior records with a time of 52.88 seconds.

This breaks Joanne Cuddihy's 2003 Irish record and edges the talented Beechmount athlete ever closer to Stephanie Llewellyn's 23 year old NI Senior record of 52.54 secs .

The All Ireland Schools and NI 200 metres champion was competing for Ireland in Mannheim, Germany where she took a huge 0.76 secs off her previous best time. Davicia's next major competition will be the World Junior Championships in Finland next month.

In the big BMC meeting in Loughborough, Annadale's Connall Kirk, who recently took the NI 800 metres title, won again in another PB time of 1.50.40, just ahead of Hillington's Ahmed Farah (1.50.75). Annadale's Calum Walker ran a time of 1.53.24.

Ireland's Brian Fay ran a PB time in the 1,500 metres of 3.43.43 in a race where former Commonwealth Games athlete Danny Mooney was timed at 3.46.48. University of Ulster's Neil Johnston ran his fastest time of 14.22.74 in the 5,000 metres.

All these athletes will be competing in the big Belfast International meet at the Mary Peters track on Tuesday evening featuring Commonwealth bronze medallist Leon Reid.

Commonwealth Games athlete Emma Mitchell will be a little disappointed with her 16.13.65 secs time in her 5,000 metres event won by veteran Jo Pavey in 15 mins 49 secs. Emma's time was some 23 secs slower than her PB from a year ago.

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

NI athletes took two podium places in the Swansea Half Marathon where athletes suffered in heat.

Mourne's Laura Graham was second in 75 mins 56 secs with North Belfast's Gladys Ganiel taking third in 77.22. The race was won by Tracy Barlow in a record of 73.51.

In the Energia 24 hour race at Victoria Park, Dublin's Teresa Taaffe took the honours in a time of 16 hours 28 mins 32 secs. Willowfield's Tim Brownlee won the Men's race in 7.47.49.

Top Videos