Belfast Telegraph

Ronald Stubbs hoping to make a big return to World stage in IIBA's Champion of Champions qualifier

By Staff Reporter

Ronald Stubbs will be looking to turn back the clock in the IIBA's Champion of Champions singles qualifier at the Watson Stadium tomorrow.

The Ballinderry man lifted the title back in 1998, which booked his ticket to the Short Mat World bowls two years later. He duly became only the fourth Northern Ireland man to get his hands on the coveted trophy.

Stubbs will begin the process all over again at Shaw's Bridge, coming up against Lough's Paul Duff in his opening game.

"It seems like a lifetime ago," he said. "I have a tough match.

"It's one of the most difficult competitions to win simply because everyone is there on merit, having won a licensed IIBA tournament. It would be great to compete in World bowls again."

IIBA officials have altered the format, playing the singles and fours this week and the pairs and triples next Saturday.

Champion of Champions singles

First round: Ron Stubbs (Balliindery) v P Duff (Louth); L Harrison (United Services) v A Steele (Greenbank).

Second round: J Glackin (Maghery) v R Stubbs or P Duff; P Beattie (St Mark's, Portadown) v M Hand (Corduff); B Rankin (Derramore) v S McCartney (Holm Park), S McMath (Michelin) v A Tanner (Conna); J Adair (Clare Presbyterian)v G Maybin (1st Ahoghill); S Quinn (Cookstown Parochial) v M White Conwell); K Conroy (Redeemer) v S Winters (Latton); D McClintock (St Johnston) v PJ McCrossan (St Patrick's, Drumquin); Nathan Haire (Hillsborough Social) v J Murnaghan (Dooley); J Beattie (St Mark's, Portadown) v A Morrison (1st Ahoghill); Ray Stubbs (Ballinderry) v I Hobson (Dungannon Indoor); M Triggs (Middleton) v T Turkington (Kildress) ; M Beattie (Strabane CC) v M Trainor (St Anthony's, Craigavon); S Hand (Corduff) v K Blakley (Rathfiland), S McSorley (Holm Park) v A Ward (Cookstown Parochial); L Harrison or A Steele v T Gartland (Killaney).

Champion of Champions Fours

First round: G McCabe (Cooley) v J Richardson (St Mark's, Portadown); B McAlary (Lafarge) v I Armstrong (Wellington); Nick Haire (Hillsborough Social) v L Conlon (Watergrasshill); J Quinn (Ballylennon) v J McMahon (Carrickmacross); G McNabb (St Michael's, Enniskillen) v A Leckey (St Mark's, Portadown); C Dillon (St Joseph's, Ponyntzpass) v F McGuirk (Ardaghey); A Corrigan (Redeemer) v J Donnell (Cookstown Parochial); V McHugh (Ballylennon) v J Mackey (Soldierstown).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph