Belfast Telegraph

Super Mac and Miebello speed to a Derby success


High hopes: Ireland’s Mark McAuley triumphs at the Dublin Horse Show
High hopes: Ireland’s Mark McAuley triumphs at the Dublin Horse Show

By Ruth Loney

Ardee-born rider Mark McAuley, now based in Switzerland, took the coveted Clayton Hotel Speed Derby on the second day of the Stena Line Dublin Horse Show at the RDS.

Irish riders have excelled but are wishing Derry horseman Jordan Coyle a quick recovery after he missed his international debut due to a riding accident earlier in the week and is in Altnagelvin Hospital.

The rider, whose brother Daniel rushed home from the US to be at his bedside, is in a stable condition despite the serious accident.

Coyle had been a consistent Grand Prix winner in the US and Mexico and had been selected as a senior international for this week's show where he would have been a crowd favourite.

Meanwhile, highly consistent and a previous Dublin winner, McAuley and Miebello, his grey Swedish-bred gelding, were best of a short 13 start list, of which only three went clear.

Miebello showed a clean set of heels in a time of 86.30 to claim the €25,000 class, beating Olympian Cian O'Connor with his Wednesday winner Diego. O'Connor was only a fraction slower in 86.39 ahead of third placed Swiss rider Barbara Schnieper on Dickens II, clear in 87.85.

County Down eventer Steven Smith partnered MMF Churchill to take runner-up in the main arena in the five-year-old event horse jumping phase to collect a cheque for €1,500.

Winner Michael Ryan, Cork, scored 91.6 for first with Claragh Olala owned by Nicholas Pomeroy to win €2,000.

Louise Codd with Future News galloped to victory in the main arena in the four-year-old event horse jumping phase, scoring 95 to take home €2,000 ahead of Ian Cassells, and Loughtown Bonnie, scoring 92.3 for €1,500.

European junior showjumping champion Kate Derwin showed her versatility to take first and second place in the main arena in the Junior and Young Rider Event Horse section with Bessbrook international junior Lucy McIlroy slotting into eighth place on Imperial Black Pearl.

Matthew Conlon, Enniskillen, excelled in the 138cm pony class with Glenford Clausa, owned by his father Bernard, to take second behind Aoife Whelan and Ban Dubh. Conlon, trained by James Hogg, Maguiresbridge, is highly rated by All Ireland Showjumping chairman Eamon Rice.

"There are some brilliant pony riders from the Northern Region who are stars of the future. Matthew is one of them as is Niamh McEvoy of Omagh," he said.

Antrim's Balmoral champion show ring rider Jamie Smith won the Small Riding Horse Class for Amanda Torrens, Raphoe, with Leave It To You taking the RDS Challenge Trophy, while Emily McGowan, Killinchy, County Down, won the Connemara Performance class on Tullaree Fear Bui, also claiming the overall championship.

Ballynahinch youngster Gareth Carlisle had his first ever Dublin win when he produced MT Star Lux to win the Young Eventer loose jumping title.

The Performance Irish Draught reserve championship went to Dowdstown Purple, owned by Barry and Jackie Marsh, care of Elaine O'Connor at Tullymurray Equestrian Centre in Downpatrick.

Today is Aga Khan day for the Nations Cup team event where Ireland and Sweden could have a chance of success.

GB may be the dark horses but Mexico, who won last year, are setting their sights on a double, according to Federico Fernandez.

The US is not fielding a team this year, but their two solo riders Laura Kraut and McLain Ward are certain favourites for Sunday's Longines €350,000 Grand Prix.

Today's main arena timetable: 138cm pony final, 8am; 148cms final, 9am; International seven-year-olds, 10.30am; International eight-year-olds, 11.40am; arrival of president, 1.50pm; Parade of Champions, 2.35pm; Nations Cup, 3pm; 128cm pony final, 6.40pm

Dublin Horse Show, yesterday's results: The Clayton Hotel Speed Derby: 1 Mark McAuley IRE Miebello 0- 86.30 2 Cian O'Connor, IRE Diego 0- 86.39 3 Barbara Shnieper SWI Dickens II 0- 87.85

148cms Ponies: 1 Max Foley, Pumkins Pondi 0-0 35.50 2 Tom Wachman, Aughnashammer 0-36.37 3 Sara O'Donnell, Glor Tire Cruise 0- 37.19

128cms Ponies: 1 Senan Reape, Mickybo 0-36.36 2 Iseult Fleming, Miss Charming 0- 41 3 Alanna Fagan, Kiltormer Ruby 0-41.75

138cms Ponies: 1 Aoife Whelan, Ban Dubh 0- 39.07 2 Matthew Conlon, Glenford Clausa 4.33.25 3 Robin Carey, Bay Times 4 36.80

Five-year-old Eventers: 1 Michael Ryan, Claragh Olala 91.6 2 Steven Smith, MMF Churchilll 89 3 Jessica O'Driscoll Shanclough Quality 88.4

Four-year-old Eventers: 1 Louise Codd, Future News 95 2 Ian Cassells, Loughtown Bonnie 92.3 3 Alice Copithorne, Reenmore Riley 89.6

International Eight-year-olds first round: 1 Jack Ryan IRE Essenar High Hopes 0- 58.61 2 Emilio Bicochhi, ITA Red Bobo 0- 62.80 3 Ben Maher GB, Ginger Blue 0- 64.61

International Seven-year-olds: 1 Denis Lynch IRE Cornets Iberio 0-61.24 2 Edward Doyle Jr Mullaghdrin Limber 0-67.54 3 Francis Connors IRE Erne Mountain Des 0- 68.12

Nations Cup Draw result for running order: 1 Italy; 2 GB; 3 Switzerland; 4 Ireland; 5 Sweden; 6 Netherlands; 7 Mexico

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph