Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Racing

Jockeys hit with bans

Jockeys Greg Fairley and Paul Doe have been handed bans of 12 years following a long-running British Horseracing Authority investigation into alleged corruption.

Kirsty Milczarek was banned for two years and Jimmy Quinn given a six-month ban.

The charges related to 10 races between January 17, 2009 and August 15, 2009.

The bans take effect from midnight on Wednesday. Those disqualified have seven days, after the full reasons for findings and penalties are published, within which to appeal against the findings. If an appeal is submitted, the penalty against them will remain in place unless the Appeal Board (Chairman) grants them a stay on the imposition of those penalties.

Milczarek's solicitor Christopher Stewart-Moore confirmed an appeal would be made on her behalf.

He said: "We think the Panel's reasoning is flawed and we're going to be appealing to the BHA appeal board as Kirsty was not involved in any conspiracy of any kind."

Registered owners Maurice Sines and James Crickmore were given bans totalling 14 years each by the BHA disciplinary panel having been found guilty of laying a horse they owned on a betting exchange.

Liam Vasey was banned for five years, David Kendrick four years and Shaun Harris three years.

A decision on Nick and Peter Gold's penalties will be made pending further written submissions. A statement issued on behalf of Nick and Peter Gold by Lawrence Stephens Solicitors stressed the pair would "vigorously contest the findings against them and will be lodging an appeal".

Former jockey Paul Fitzsimons, now a trainer, was found not guilty while Darren May was found not in breach of any rules.


From Belfast Telegraph