Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Racing

Sea the Star of year

Sea The Stars crowned a glorious year with Horse of the Year honours at the 2009 Cartier Racing Awards.

Racing's glitterati gathered at Claridge's Hotel in Mayfair, London last night, where the John Oxx-trained superstar was also awarded the title of Champion Three-Year-Old Colt.

Wins in the 2000 Guineas, Derby, Eclipse, Juddmonte International, Irish Champion Stakes and the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe etched Christopher Tsui's horse into the annals of Turf history.

Brilliant French filly Goldikova was Champion Older Horse after recording back-to-back wins in the Breeders' Cup Mile in another stellar season.

The Two-Year-Old Colt category went the way of Aidan O'Brien's unbeaten Racing Post Trophy winner St Nicholas Abbey, while the fillies' equivalent was awarded to Criquette Head-Maarek's Special Duty, winner of the Cheveley Park Stakes at Newmarket.

Oaks heroine Sariska saw off the likes of Midday and Ghanaati to lift the Champion Three-Year-Old Filly crown.

There was no need to look any further than Yeats for Champion Stayer.

O'Brien's stalwart brought the house down at Royal Ascot when becoming the first horse to win the Gold Cup four times.

July Cup winner Fleeting Spirit beat Total Gallery and Borderlescott to become Champion Sprinter.

On a great night for Oxx, he was voted the 2009 Cartier/Daily Telegraph Award of Merit winner, a title for the person or person who, in the opinion of the special 18-strong Cartier Jury, has/have done most for European racing and/or breeding either over their lifetime or within the past 12 months.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph