Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Ashton wins try award

Chris Ashton's length of the field try against Australia has been voted as the International Rugby Players' Association try of the year for 2010.

"It's a fantastic accolade to win the IRPA Try of the Year Award," said Ashton. "Even though I had the job of putting the ball down over the whitewash it was a team effort with the whole team playing its part in defending and forcing the turnover before Ben Youngs and Courtney Lawes gave me the ball.

"They all deserve the credit too - it wouldn't have happened without all of us working together."

The move began on England's own line, with Toby Flood, Tom Palmer and Mike Tindall combining to stop Wallaby scrum-half Will Genia and secure a vital turnover

Youngs dug the ball out and, in his own in-goal area, dummied a clearance kick to take Quade Cooper out of the equation before scampering from behind England's line and passing to Lawes.

The dextrous Northampton lock drew in two Australian defenders before slipping the pass to Ashton, who caught the ball one-handed, tucked it under his right arm and raced out of England's 22.

Ashton still had Drew Mitchell to beat and he cut infield on half way, leaving the Australian wing in his wake to finish a famous try under the posts.

Ashton's effort was voted by the public from a shortlist of 18, which included two tries from Wales wing Shane Williams.

New Zealand wing Israel Dagg and England women's full-back Danielle Waterman polled highly.


From Belfast Telegraph