Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Australia name 40-man squad

Super Rugby winner Radike Samo has been named in Australia`s 40-man squad for their summer internationals.

Just hours after lifting the title with the Queensland Reds, the 34-year-old was called up by the Wallabies for their Test with Samoa and the subsequent Tri-Nations series after a seven-year absence.

Samo`s Queensland team-mates Beau Robinson and James Hanson are two of the three newcomers in the party, along with Waratahs lock Sitaleki Timani.

Berrick Barnes and Drew Mitchell have been left out owing to injury, although Tatafu Polota-Nau, Wycliff Palu, James Slipper and Luke Burgess are included despite being currently sidelined.

Samo is joined by two other recalled veterans, Mark Gerrard and Dan Vickerman, but there was no spot for old warhorse Phil Waugh.

"Samo`s performances speak for themselves," said coach Robbie Deans.

"Seven years after he first played Test matches, he has got into good shape physically and has shown that he still has an appetite for rugby at this level."

Deans will trim his squad by 10 for the World Cup on August 18.

Australia face Samoa next Sunday at ANZ Stadium, before facing South Africa on July 23.

Australia squad: Ben Alexander, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Kurtley Beale, Luke Burgess, Quade Cooper, Ben Daley, Rod Davies, Dave Dennis, Rocky Elsom, Anthony Faingaa, Saia Faingaa, Will Genia, Mark Gerrard, Matt Giteau, James Hanson, Scott Higginbotham, Matt Hodgson, James Horwill, Digby Ioane, Sekope Kepu, Salesi Maafu, Pat McCabe, Ben McCalman, Stephen Moore, Luke Morahan, Dean Mumm, James O'Connor, Wycliff Palu, Nick Phipps, David Pocock, Tatafu Polota Nau, Beau Robinson, Benn Robinson, Radike Samo, Nathan Sharpe, Rob Simmons, James Slipper, Sitaleki Timani, Lachie Turner, Dan Vickerman.


From Belfast Telegraph