Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Eight Ulster players named in Ireland squad

Eight Ulster players have been named in the Ireland squad to face USA Eagles on Saturday 8th June at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston (kick off 1:45am UK time).

Darren Cave, Chris Henry and Iain Henderson, who makes his starting debut, are all selected to start alongside previously uncapped Stuart Olding who is included in the XV at centre. Tom Court, Dan Tuohy, Paul Marshall and Paddy Jackson are named on the bench.

Leinster’s Mike Ross is the most capped player in the starting XV and he packs down with Richardt Strauss and David Kilcoyne.

Mike McCarthy and Devin Toner form the second row pairing with Iain Henderson and Chris Henry on either side of new Ireland captain Peter O’Mahony in the back row.

Speaking ahead of the game Ireland Coach Les Kiss said “We’ve had a good week of preparation and the players have settled well in Houston. This is a young team with five players starting for the first time and we are under no illusions as to the challenge posed by an experienced and improving USA Eagles team”.

Ireland Team & Replacements to play USA (BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston, Saturday 8th June, 19:45 (01:45 Irish time). Live on Universal and TG4.

15. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht) *
14. Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 17
13. Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 3
12. Stuart Olding (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)*
11. Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 5
10. Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster) 2
9. Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster) 15
1. David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 6
2. Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster) 2
3. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster) 29
4. Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers/Connacht) 10
5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 5
6. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 5
7. Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster) 6
8. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 14

16. Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster)*
17. Jamie Hagan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)*
18. Tom Court (Malone/Ulster) 30
19. Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster) 5
20. Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)*
21. Paul Marshall (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 1
22. Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 3
23. Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster) 3

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph