Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

England trio to make Test debuts

Owen Farrell, Brad Barritt and Phil Dowson will make their Test debuts in Saturday's RBS 6 Nations clash with Scotland as part of a new-look and inexperienced England team.

Saracens pair Farrell and Barritt will become England's first uncapped centre pairing since 2002 - and only the second since 1969 - while Dowson starts at number eight.

Interim head coach Stuart Lancaster has named a total of eight uncapped players in his 22-man squad for the trip to Murrayfield.

Wasps hooker Rob Webber, Leicester lock Geoff Parling, Scarlets number eight Ben Morgan, Northampton scrum-half Lee Dickson and Harlequins centre Jordan Turner-Hall are all primed to make their debuts from the bench.

Lancaster's starting line-up boasts just 236 Test caps, including Lions appearances, compared to Scotland's 501. The Scottish pack alone has more international experience than England.

Saracens fly-half Charlie Hodgson is the most experienced player in the England line-up with 36 caps, but he will be making his first Test start in four years.

Seven of England's starting XV go into the game with 10 caps or fewer, while Chris Robshaw will captain England in only his second Test appearance. Saracens lock Mouritz Botha will be making his first international start following a debut off the bench last August.

"We have been impressed with how the whole group has come together in the last 10 days and we have done a lot of work on and off the field," Lancaster said. "Now is the time to turn all that into a performance against Scotland that we can all be proud of. It is a massive challenge - Murrayfield, the first game of the Six Nations - but one we are relishing."

England team: B Foden (Northampton); C Ashton (Northampton), B Barritt (Saracens), O Farrell (Saracens), D Strettle (Saracens); C Hodgson (Saracens), B Youngs (Leicester); A Corbisiero (London Irish), D Hartley (Northampton), D Cole (Leicester), M Botha (Saracens), T Palmer (Stade Francais), T Croft (Leicester), C Robshaw (Harlequins, captain), P Dowson (Northampton).

Replacements: R Webber (Wasps), M Stevens (Saracens), G Parling (Leicester), B Morgan (Scarlets), L Dickson (Northampton), J Turner-Hall (Harlequins), M Brown (Harlequins).


From Belfast Telegraph