Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

England Women name four new players in Six Nations squad

England Women have called up four new names to their 33-strong squad for the upcoming Six Nations.

Worcester's Bianca Blackburn and Lark Davies, Heather Kerr of Darlington and Aylesford's Leanne Riley have been included by head coach Simon Middleton.

Their inclusion comes amid the absences through injury of Claire Allan, Emily Braund and Abbie Scott, in addition to Emma Croker's international retirement.

Vickii Cornborough is also included, despite remaining suspended until February 27, while Amber Reed and Sarah McKenna have been recalled after recovering their fitness.

Darlington lock Tamara Taylor, meanwhile, will earn her 100th cap with two further appearances, the first of which could come in the opening Six Nations game against France on February 4.

"This is a huge year and we now have a squad training full-time," said Middleton. "The Six Nations forms a key milestone ahead of the Women's Rugby World Cup in August."

Forwards: Zoe Aldcroft (Darlington), Sarah Bern (Bristol), Rochelle Clark (Worcester), Poppy Cleall (Bristol), Amy Cokayne (Lichfield), Vickii Cornborough (Aylesford), Lark Davies (Worcester), Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens), Sarah Hunter (Bristol), Laura Keates (Worcester), Heather Kerr (Darlington), Justine Lucas (Lichfield), Alex Matthews (Richmond), Harriet Millar-Mills (Lichfield), Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol), Marlie Packer (Bristol), Tamara Taylor (Darlington).

Backs: Bianca Blackburn (Worcester), Rachel Burford (Aylesford), Natasha Hunt (Lichfield), Megan Jones (Bristol), La Toya Mason (Darlington), Sarah McKenna (Saracens), Katy McLean (Darlington), Fiona Pocock (Aylesford), Amber Reed (Bristol), Leanne Riley (Aylesford), Emily Scarratt (Lichfield), Emily Scott (Saracens), Lydia Thompson (Worcester), Danielle Waterman (Bristol), Kay Wilson (Richmond), Amy Wilson Hardy (Bristol).


From Belfast Telegraph