Belfast Telegraph

Night of fame as Queen’s hail their Lion kings


By Jonathan Bradley

In the week when Iain Henderson was named as the university’s 22nd Lion, Queen’s last night celebrated their unique contribution to the famous rugby touring side’s history.

At a gala dinner in the Whitla Hall, many of the academic institution’s past greats, including Tommy Bowe, Trevor Ringland and Nigel Carr, were in attendance.

The evening also saw four of the club’s legends become inaugural members of their Hall of Fame. Former Lions greats Harry McKibbin, Jack Kyle, Cecil Pedlow and Dick Milliken were inducted, with the latter there to accept the honour in person.

The Hall of Fame will be named after Robbie Moore, the club stalwart who sadly passed away last year.  For over 30 years, Moore dedicated his life to Queen’s Rugby Club where he served as president, physio, sandwich maker and every role in between.

Having nurtured the early talents of Henderson, Bowe, David Humphreys, Denis McBride and Gary Longwell, the university have said the Hall of Fame will be a fitting way to honour his legacy.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph