Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Faloon takes home a Player of Year double

By Michael Sadlier

Neil Faloon collected a title double at last night's Ulster Bank League Awards which were held in Dublin at the Aviva Stadium.

The Armagh man lifted the Division 2B Player of the Year award and also made off with the Ulster Player of the Year crown with both being presented to him by Ireland coach Joe Schmidt.

Other Ulster-based players who featured on the shortlist but failed to take home the prizes on offer included Ballynahinch's Ross Adair, who joins Jersey next season. He was in the running for the Ulster Player of the Year and the Rising Star awards.

Ballymena's Sean Taylor was named in the Division 1B Player of the Year category along with Frank Taggart from Belfast Harlequins but the trophy was secured by John Cleary from Galwegians.

Ryan Clarke and Keelin Durnien were also up for PRO of the Year but the pair from Queen's University were pipped by Old Wesley's Thomas O'Brien.

Main award winners, Player of the Year Div 1A: Matt D'Arcy, Clontarf.

Top try scorer: Matt D'Arcy. Top points scorer: Josh Glynn, Old Belvedere.

Rising Star: Cian Kelleher, Lansdowne.

Coach of the Year: John Staunton, Young Munster.

Player of the Year Div 1B: John Cleary, Galwegians.

Player of the Year Div 2A: Ian Cassidy, Old Wesley.

Player of the Year Div 2B: Neil Faloon, Armagh.

Connacht Player of the Year: John Cleary, Galwegians.

Leinster Player of the Year: Alan Large, Old Wesley.

Munster Player of the Year: Ger Slattery, Young Munster.

Ulster Player of the Year: Neil Faloon, Armagh.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph