Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Great Britain drawn against New Zealand in Rio Olympics Rugby Sevens

Great Britain will face New Zealand in the pool stages of the Rio Olympics Rugby Sevens.

The draw was made in Brazil on Tuesday, which saw Kenya and Japan also placed in Pool C.

The competition will run from August 9 to 11 at Deodoro Olympic Park, and Pool B will comprise of South Africa, Australia, France and Spain, while favourites Fiji are in Pool A along with defending Olympic champions USA, Argentina and hosts Brazil.

The top two teams from each pool, plus the two best third-placed sides, will progress to the quarter-finals.

In the women's Rugby Sevens, Pool A has top seeds and reigning HSBC World Rugby Women's Sevens Series champions Australia, with USA, Fiji and Colombia.

Great Britain are in Pool C, where they will meet Brazil, Canada and Japan.

Spain, who came through the recent global repechage tournament in Dublin, will contest Pool B along with New Zealand, France and Kenya.

Incoming World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said: "I anticipate that it will be one of the highlights of Rio 2016 as we showcase this great sport to a new audience of hundreds of millions around the world and inspire the next generation to get into rugby."


(seeding in brackets)

MEN - Pool A: Fiji (one), USA (six), Argentina (seven), Brazil (12); Pool B: South Africa (two), Australia (five), France (eight), Spain (11); Pool C: New Zealand (three), Great Britain (four), Kenya (nine), Japan (10)

WOMEN - Pool A: Australia (one), USA (six), Fiji (seven), Colombia (12); Pool B: New Zealand (two), France (five), Spain (eight), Kenya (11); Pool C: Canada (three), Great Britain (four), Brazil (nine), Japan (10)


From Belfast Telegraph